27 Hamilton, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’m here for friends and quizzes and wondering (despairing) at how some of these match questions are divisive enough to be questions.

My life pretty much revolves around school right now: I’m studying Classics in university, which basically entails me flailing about Greek and Roman history/culture and alternately adoring and cursing Latin. Greek is mostly just cursing. I love languages and my childhood dream was to learn them all; for now Demotic Egyptian is next on my list (my first non-Indo-European language!). When I’m not studying, I’m probably spending time that I should be using to study on the Internet, indulging my fanfiction habit and reading social justice/feminist blogs. I try to get out sometimes too, wandering the city, visiting thrift shops and used-bookstores, which I have a hard time leaving without buying a few books.

I’m an indie-lover and a bit of a record geek, with a music collection currently limited only by hard-drive space. I go to shows when I can, which is not nearly often enough since it’s hard to get to Toronto or other places, especially late at night. I’m working on learning how to knit, when I have time. I don’t watch much TV anymore and am behind in almost all my shows. I still draw a bit, which I like to think I’m decent at. I’ve been doing some life drawing recently which is a lot of fun. I studied science before I switched over to the arts, and I still miss it sometimes.
I’m pretty quiet and would like to expand my small circle of friends.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm studying Classics in university with an eye towards grad school, working on learning Latin fluently, and trying to figure out the answer to exactly this question.
I’m really good at
Translating, dorking out about grammar and history, picking up languages.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books(/Authors): Gormenghast trilogy, Discworld, Lord of the Rings and The Silmarillion, Good Omens, Neverwhere, H. P. Lovecraft, Michael Moorcock, Kurt Vonnegut, Lord Byron, Oscar Wilde, Dylan Thomas

Movies: Brazil, If..., O! Lucky Man, Rocky Horror Picture Show, Dr Strangelove, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead

Shows: Community, Doctor Who (new and classic), White Collar, Supernatural, Sherlock Holmes (Jeremy Brett's), Sherlock, Black Books, Star Trek (TOS, TNG, DS9)

Music: Joy Division, Swans, The Fall, Amanda Palmer, Leonard Cohen, Girls, David Bowie, Hawkwind, T. Rex, Au Pairs, Pavement, Sonic Youth, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Cloud Nothings, Patti Smith, Sarah Slean, the Kinks, Kraftwerk, Can, Jacques Brel

I also have a lingering, sometimes shameful, affection for classic rock and Rick Astley.

Food: Ice cream, candy, pastries, cheesecake: anything sweet - it's a terrible weakness. Also Indian and pub fare.
The six things I could never do without
Books, fountain pens, rainy days, music, my notebook, the internet.
On a typical Friday night I am
Staying up too late on the internet, or translating Latin or Greek.
You should message me if
You're as big a geek as I am and want someone to talk about Doctor Who with.