32 Amherst, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I just moved to the Pioneer Valley last August for nursing school, and am enjoying my time here so far. School keeps me pretty busy, but I'd love to make time for the right woman. I consider myself loving, affectionate, and thoughtful. But don't take my word for it... find out for yourself!
What I’m doing with my life
I'm working on an accelerated nursing program at UMass to get my Bachelor of Science in Nursing in December. After that, I hope to work full-time and continue on to graduate school part-time to become a Nurse Practitioner.
I’m really good at
dodging questions like this! In all seriousness, I think I'm fairly good at learning languages, and even though I haven't done much of either in a couple years because of a busy work schedule, I used to be a pretty skilled writer and photographer.
The first things people usually notice about me
Hmmm, hard to say, but probably that I'm a good listener. And I've had a few people tell me that I'm fairly mature for my age. And I'm tall!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Grapes of Wrath, The Death of Ivan Ilyich, Roots, The Moral Landscape, Wolf Story and The Wizard of Oz (childhood faves)

Movies: Wild Strawberries, Mulholland Drive, Before Sunrise, Rebel Without a Cause, Citizen Kane, tons of others

TV: Lost, Law & Order: SVU, Rescue Me, MASH, Frasier, South Park

Music: Mojave 3, Slowdive, Neil Halstead, Rachel Goswell, David Bowie, Traffic, Sade, Allison's Halo, Loreena McKennitt... a bunch of things that don't seem like they belong on the same list!

Art: The work of Alex Grey

Food: I'm new to the area and still discovering what the best places are. Who knows... maybe you can show me?
The six things I could never do without
"Never do without" are pretty strong words. I've found that I'm a pretty resourceful and adaptable person, and that when something that seems indispensable disappears, I make do and move on. That said, it would be hard to get through my day without these things.
1. A positive attitude
2. A soy mocha with breakfast
3. The goals that motivate me
4. Music
5. The love and support of my family and friends
6. Good, healthy food
I spend a lot of time thinking about
All the happy memories I have of my father. The job prospects for graduating nurses next January. Where nursing will take me and how I can better learn to help people. How soon to begin part-time graduate school after I finish this program, and what the work/school balance will be. The process of buying a condo someday, and whether it's even a good idea in the age of mortgage fraud. How to efficiently get food and clean water to 7 billion people. How to create the most happiness and prevent the most suffering in the world (I certainly don't always succeed, but I think about how it could be done).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm quite shy at first, but warm up quickly with the right person. Also, I've never had alcohol. I definitely don't care if other people drink, but I've seen it create a lot of problems in the lives of people that I've known, so it's never been a part of mine. As far as other private things go, you'll just have to ask me in person :-)
You should message me if
you're kind, compassionate, open-minded, have some ambition, and want to meet someone who will treat you well. I'm looking for someone who accepts me the way I am in some ways, but makes me want to improve myself in others. We should have some things in common, but we don't have to be alike in every way.