42Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an easy-going, drama-free, recovering introvert with a lot on his mind. I appreciate small dinner gatherings over night clubs, flexibility over expectations, and deep conversations over small talk.

I look at everything from food to relationships from an anti-capitalist/social justice lens, while occasionally submitting to my inner bourgeois tendencies.

I'm a Virgo in theory but not always in practice. I use old tupperware and ziplock bags to organize my clutter. I'm a beast with post-it notes. But for whatever reason I can't seem to keep my desk or the trunk of my car tidy.

I'm in a non-monogamous relationship with my dear partner of 5+ years. That said, as much as possible I try to honor all my relationships in a way that feels good, loving, and equitable for everyone involved. Easier said than done, but I think I'm getting better with it as time goes on.
What I’m doing with my life
After a long run working at various youth non-profits doing everything from community organizing to health education, I've decided to take a break from employment and go back to school. Currently a full-time graphic design student at a local community college and loving it.

I'm also a community organizer and a pretty damn good house party DJ. I also enjoy jamming with my funky hip hop soul band of four years. I volunteer for an organization that does weekly workshops for a group of amazing inmates at San Quentin State Prison.

Let's see... A few years ago I went through a much-needed bicycling phase that has settled into leisurely rides to school and/or nearby kick-it spots. I did, at one point, co-found a people of color bicycle crew that organizes rides mostly in the East Bay.

I also love cooking and messing around with new and sometimes healthy alternatives to the crap I ate growing up. And most recently I picked up (and have become semi-obsessed with) photography as a way to complement my graphic design work.
I’m really good at
Troubleshooting, bringing folks together, listening, smooching, rocking crowds, bad jokes, writing love letters, using my hands... I'm also a pretty snazzy chef and interior decorator.
The first things people usually notice about me
The dimples. And on warmer days, the tattoos.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Alchemist, Down these Mean Streets, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, The Ethical Slut, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, America is in the Heart, The Witch of Portabello, The Four Agreements, Redefining Our Relationships, Autobiography of a Brown Buffalo, Way of the Peaceful Warrior, anything by Pablo Neruda and Terrance Hayes, and Adrian Tomine graphic novels. Currently catching up on a lot of Octavia Butler.

Movies: Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind, Whale Rider, Love Jones, City of God, Boomerang, Harold and Kumar (White Castle), Happy Gilmore

Music: Bill Withers, Ice Cube, Manu Chao, Dead Kennedys, Lauryn Hill, Black Star, The Roots, Native Guns, Jean Grae, Erykah Badu, Raphael Saadiq, Radiohead, Donnie Hathaway, From Monument to Masses, Smashing Pumpkins, Jay Electronica, Blue Scholars, Bob Marley, Sex Pistols, Prince, Jimi Hendrix, etc...

Food: Taco trucks, sushi, korean food, pho, a nice slice of pizza from time to time, Hawaiian plate lunches, Champa Garden in Oakland, Kuishimbo or Versailles or Tommy's in L.A, vegan soul food, In-n-Out, ice cream cookies, samples from the Farmers Market
Six things I could never do without
Community, ice cream, bicycling, words, intimacy, lakes/oceans

Honorable mention to my paper trimmer.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Words (and combinations of words), food, the bridge between personal and political, crushes, graphic design, relationships, cheap furniture, ... did I mention food?
On a typical Friday night I am
Sharing alcohol and/or conversation with good friends, on an out-of town adventure, riding my bike around the town, at home hibernating...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I like painting my nails occasionally.
You should message me if
You are down with challenging gender norms/roles and expect the same from the people you kick it with.

You appreciate random bowling or scrabble or movie nights. And the occasional troublesome adventure in the city. Or sitting in the living room reading and sipping tea.

You like food. You like ice cream. You like a shot of whisky every now and then.

You can navigate between critical political conversation and trashy celebrity gossip. And not feel all guilty or judgmental about it.

You appreciate time together. You appreciate personal space. You like to remove labels off of things.
The two of us