45 Montreal, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
When I put on my 'work clothes', I think I pass pretty well for 'mainstream' or at least geeky mainstream. However, you are more likely to see me wearing a kilt and tee-shirt while gardening or hanging out in the park with my daughter, trying to balance on a slack line or something similar.

While I am pretty much at 'peak privilege' as a cis/white/het (mostly)/male, I do my best to be a good ally to everyone who doesn't fall into all of these various privleged categories. I'm far from a 'manly man' - if you are looking for someone who is into sports and likes drinking beer, you can move along to the next profile now. My mother-in-law was quite convinced that I was an FtM transexual for many years - it's a pretty funny story - Happy to share if you are interested.

My day job is pretty analytical - but I consider myself pretty artistic overall - I've been doing photography and digital art for many years, and have recently started turning my artwork into jewellery. I've always been struck by how beautiful science and nature is, and so my jewellery generally has a scientific theme - photos of interference patterns from soap film - processed data from the Hubble Space Telescope, smoke floating through the air - that kind of thing.

I've been polyamorous for many years - I'm currently one-end of a committed poly 'V' that's been together since 2007, living together and raising our daughter together.
What I’m doing with my life
I recently came across some 'life goals' I had written up more than 20 years ago - and it was somewhat amazing to me how many of them I'd managed to achieve - I've got an amazing family, many fulfilling and loving relationships, a great job, a wonderful house in a nice walkable neighbourhood. I really feel super fortunate that my life is going so well.

More concretely - I've got a day job at a huge software company that is surprisingly *not* soul-sucking, a wife, 'co-husband', and daughter who I love to hang out with, An etsy store selling my jewellery that is starting to pick up steam, and perhaps a little less 'spare' time than I'd like... But damn, if I don't say so myself - life is good.
I’m really good at
Empathy - if anything I might sometimes be too good at seeing where people are coming from and why.

I'm a pretty good cook - I like cooking, and tend to produce pretty good food pretty consistently. I'm also getting pretty good at taking existing recipes and coming up with gluten-free / dairy-free versions of them. I've got some great gluten/dairy free cookie recipes if you want 'em!
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably my clothes - as I said above, I'm usually wearing a utility kilt - even in the winter (possibly with long underwear underneath it in the winter).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books^H^H^H^H^H Authors: Lois McMaster Bujold, Robert Heinlein, Neil Gaiman, Steven Brust, Roger Zelazny, Edward De Bono, Edward Tufte, Louise Penny, Jo Walton, Charles Stross, Iain M. Banks, John Scalzi, Ann Leckie,

Movies: Princess Bride, Fifth Element, Donnie Darko, many others

Music: Heather Dale, Jethro Tull, The Cruxshadows, most things aside from traditional country.

Games: Fallout (Playing Fallout 4 with my Wife), Starbound (Playing with my daughter), Kerbal Space Program, Carcassone, Pandemic

Food: Thai food - it's all about the coconut milk and the basil, Indian food, interesting pizza prepared on the bbq, very old cheddar.
The six things I could never do without
1: My camera, 2: My laptop (for processing images where-ever I am), 3: My daughter's smile 4: My friends 5: Tea 6: Cheese
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where to start - I probably spend too much time thinking... Could be the latest book I'm reading - the artwork/jewellery I'm working on (Current phase involves processing Hubble Space Telescope data from NASA and overlying photos I took of trees over it), or almost anything else...
On a typical Friday night I am
Lately my typical Friday night involves working on my artwork, making jewellery out of it, or playing Fallout 4 with my wife. I wouldn't mind an excuse to get out of the house occasionally on Fridays though!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've lived in Montreal for 15 years - and I can barely put too words together in French. :-/ My excuse is growing up in Saskatchewan and not getting *any* French classes in school... I've been working on fixing that lately - have been reading books in French and watching Netflix in French --- it's helping my comprehension, but I need to start speaking it at least a little!
You should message me if
As I indicated above - my life is reasonable full - if you are looking for someone who can spend the majority of their time with you - I'm afraid that isn't me. However, there is definitely time in my life to see someone a few times a month.

While I'm not necessarily opposed to 'no-strings-attached' sex (I personally don't think it should ever really be 'casual'), what I'm generally the most interested in is someone I can have amazing and fascinating conversations with, lovely walks in the park, maybe reading a book to each other under a tree, that kind of thing... Of course, if it is followed by some mind-blowing sex, that's even better.