phrheachel
34Philadelphia, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
phrheachel
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm passionate about lists, and some other things.
1. The people I love
2. My career
3. Cookies (they have to be chewy)
4. My cat and dog
5. Playing and listening to music (using the word "musician" very loosely)
6. Exercising regularly
7. Good fruit
8. Taking the time to relax
9. Education reform and liberation theology
10. Learning

I've lived in Tennessee, South Carolina, Louisiana, and Michigan, but now consider Philly home. When I'm not working or at school, I like to be with friends and family, read a good book, listen to NPR, or do something outside (walking my dog, going for a run, etc.). I'm learning to play the banjo!

I'm looking for someone who is willing to commit to me and my (sometimes hectic) schedule. Loyalty and honesty are a must. I also would like to be with someone who is physically active (but will still eat ice cream with me) and likes (minor) adventures. You should probably not hate my dog. If you think the US shouldn't accept Syrian refugees, we won't get along.

Looking for someone to go skydiving with me (this is not a euphemism)! :)
What I’m doing with my life
I'm working on my dissertation and am employed at a charter school network in the city.

I also spend a lot of time exercising (swimming, biking, running, crossfit, yoga). This does not mean I'm fast. I'm always training for something.
I’m really good at
Making awkward jokes and puns, learning how to play new musical instruments, exercising for long stretches of time, following directions.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, The Little Prince, A Confederacy of Dunces, The Power of One, The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, Born to Run. My favorite writers are Eggers and Chabon (though nothing else he's written is anywhere close to as good as Kavalier and Clay). I've been more into nonfiction lately. I purchase a lot more books than I'm able to read.

Movies: Rushmore, Spellbound, The Graduate. I typically don't watch a movie more than once, so I own very few.

Shows: Six Feet Under, 30 Rock, Arrested Development, Broad City, Flight of the Conchords, Veep.

Music: Hamilton soundtrack, Wilco, Lord Huron, Ryan Adams/Whiskeytown, Gillian Welch, Patsy Cline, Bob Dylan, Elliot Smith, The Flaming Lips, Common, Buena Vista Social Club, The Head and the Heart, Jason Isbell. The only type of music I universally dislike is contemporary country.

Podcasts: 2 dope queens, another round, death sex and money, the moth, TAL, mortified, serial, tiny spark, modern love, sooo many white guys.

Food: I like most things, but gravitate towards Asian when given a choice (sushi, Thai, bibimbap, Indian). I'm trying to eat more whole/clean foods lately.
Six things I could never do without
1. my water bottle
2. my cat and dog
3. music and books
4. internet access
5. my bikes (I was into cycling even before the hipsters appropriated it)
6. my family and friends, and trips to visit them

7. okay, also chocolate
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Food. Societal inequity. Where I'll go on my next vacation.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've been fired (from a coffee shop) for embezzlement. I still don't think I really did anything wrong, but *technically*, it was embezzlement.

I am afraid of my basement.

I don't get why people like tapas.
You should message me if
You want to go do something interesting like:
-visiting a museum
-attending a festival
-going to a concert
-biking around
-bowling
-quizzo
-hiking

You should also message me if you love breakfast, can teach me about how to fix bikes, like to play PhotoHunt, have a beard, love Latin America, are musical/artsy, or in any way resemble Charlie Kelly (minus the illiteracy and sharing a bed with Frank Reynolds and glue-sniffing). So maybe I just mean Charlie Day.

Also you should be okay with me only drinking occasionally. I don't mind being around drinking, though.
More
The two of us
--
Lifestyle
--
Dating
--
Other
--
Sex
--
Ethics
--
Religion