58Conway, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm looking for a relationship that is long term, beginning with dating. I'm a one-woman man, am loyal, and am honest. I teach college (social sciences), and am a part-time jazz bassist and composer. I love a good conversation about current events, movies, music, travel, different cultures, etc. I came up with the name "planetfirst" because one of my strongest principles is that we should all do something to strive to make this a better world, and recognize that we live in a global community. Politically, I'm left of center on most (but not all) issues. I'm not all serious all the time--I so often try to see the humorous side to life because the alternative is worse!
What I’m doing with my life
I teach geography and conduct research on urban growth problems. In my spare time, I compose music (contemporary jazz) and play in a jazz duo from time to time. I've been scoring short films lately, which is a challenge that I find exhilarating. I read a lot--mostly non-fiction, but lately I've also been reading some Latin American literature to keep up my Spanish. I do not have children, but I do have a spoiled cat.
I’m really good at
I have to admit I'm quite good at writing. I'm definitely really good at being there for that special person who matters most to me, making her feel good after a rough day, and being loyal to her.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm friendly, almost always in a good mood, and have a broadcaster's voice (or so I'm told).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like a lot of different kinds of music, but am particularly into contemporary jazz (post-bop, free jazz, Nordic jazz) and "trip-hop" (sensual blendings of jazz and hip-hop). Rock from the 70s and 80s is good too. I'm less interested in US folk music, country, etc., though I like some folk music from the Eastern Hemisphere. My favorite fiction writers are Gabriel Garcia Márquez and Julio Cortázar, and I'm trying to get exposed to more Latin American writers (I just wish there was more time!) The non-fiction books I read tend to be related to my work on urban issues, urban planning, and the global economy. Movies are awesome!!! (I loathe horror films, though). My favorite genres are romantic comedies and drama. My favorite food seems to be Mediterranean, especially Italian, Lebanese, and Greek.
Six things I could never do without
1. Exercise is extremely important! 2. Close friendships 3. My CD and LP collection. 4. A subscription to The Economist is essential. 5. My cat Moneypenny. 6. I love wearing hoodies when it's cold.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how I can apply my skills as a researcher to doing my humble part to address some of the world's biggest challenges (I guess you could say I'm a little bit nerdy).
On a typical Friday night I am
There is no typical Friday night. Sometimes I go out with friends, other times I crash at home if I've had a hard week. Sometimes I'll invite a friend or two over to listen to music and drink a beer. Sometimes I go grocery shopping. Sometimes I get caught up on news shows on public TV. It sort of depends. I'm flexible.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
OK, here goes. . . I've broken up with women, and I've had women break up with me, about 50/50. I find it easier and less stressful to be dumped than to have to be the one to break it off. Of course, the objective is to find my soul mate and break this painful cycle of disappointment.
You should message me if
you can appreciate a dry sense of humor, if you enjoy conversations about a wide variety of things, if you do at least moderate exercise for health and fitness, and if you commit to having a relationship with one person at a time.
The two of us