plides
29 Des Moines, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
plides
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I like being ridiculous with friends, but also having meaningful intellectual or emotional conversations. I enjoy connecting deeply with people (new and old), but I also need quality alone time. I'm socially liberal, but somewhat conservative in my personal choices (particularly compared to Portland, where I grew up and spent a good chunk of my 20's).

Medical student. Meditator. Boy Scout.

If I had my druthers, I'd end up living near Minneapolis again someday.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a second year osteopathic medical student at DMU. ("Osteopathic" means that I'm going to be a full-fledged physician, but I will also have the skill set to use my hands to diagnose and treat torques and imbalances in the neuromuskuloskeletal system and fascia that can exacerbate or cause medical conditions. Ask me about it if you're interested.) Lots of coursework, but with a more clinical slant than first year, and a good dose of doctor skill labs. Looking forward to getting out into the hospital/clinic next year.

I'm busy, but I make time for people and goals that are important to me.

In my free time, I stay active (hiking, biking, swimming, running, blues dancing, recently started climbing more), find adventures, try new restaurants and interesting grocery stores, volunteer, spend time with close friends, host potlucks and board game nights, and have fun getting dirty in the kitchen.

I grew up Tibetan Buddhist, challenged and embraced it in my early twenties, and practice daily. It's brought me a lot of emotional stability, which I use to care for others. In terms of dating, I connect well with open-minded, spiritual people from a variety of backgrounds.
I’m really good at
Asking deep questions to connect with people quickly and find out who they are and what matters to them. I'm more interested in having real connection than mingling with acquaintances, so I tend to have intense conversations or over the top banter with people I've recently met. (I try not to overwhelm people. I usually succeed.)

Rolling with change. Last minute spontaneity? Awesome! Plans change for reasons? Ok, let's have a great time anyway, or reschedule. Also good at adapting to change in a longer-term sense.

I'm good at building people up, and teaching.

I'm good with my hands.

Adventuring. Future adventure goals include finishing a triathlon, hiking the PCT, biking a similar distance, doing a meditative walk of the Camino del Santiago, skydiving, doing hang gliding or something similar, and doing more traveling. Day-to-day adventures include things like trying new restaurants, cooking something new, exploring the city by bike, and achieving athletic goals.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: GoT, The Education of Little Tree, The Time Traveler's Wife, My Sister's Keeper, The DOs, various cookbooks, others. I like books that make me a better person, tug on my heartstrings, or are just really enthralling. Habitually acquire books faster than I read them, and I had to donate four or so boxes before moving out here from Portland.

Shows: Adventure Time, Agents of Shield, Agent Carter, Community, Castle, Avatar, GoT, Cowboy Bebop, The Expanse. I don't actually have a lot of free time for TV, but I catch up on things occasionally.

Movies: I'm usually not too picky with movies. I've enjoyed the Marvel Cinematic Universe films, indie films, heist movies, good documentaries, action/adventure/scifi, Love Actually, About Time, Monty Python, and others.

Music: Things I like to dance to. (I dance Alt-Blues. Ask me about it if you're interested. The closest comparison is swing, but using a strong dance connection instead of basic steps.)

I love good food, and especially trying new food. Thai food is my comfort food. I enjoy experimenting with new recipes (and loosely adapting them), and I also like trying interesting beers. Currently eating a largely plant-based diet for health reasons (with exceptions for special occasions).
The six things I could never do without
1) Spending time with people I feel close to.
2) Independence, space, self-sufficiency, self-mastery.
3) Movement: dance, exercise, adventures. Sometimes, travel.
4) Passion, direction, and clarity. It's hard-won, and I value it.
5) Interesting food. I love experimental cooking, or trying new recipes, or going out to eat at interesting new places (or familiar places with new things to try on the menu).
6) Flexibility balanced with resilience.
On a typical Friday night I am
I live more by my test schedule than by the day of the week. One Friday could be studying, while another might be getting dinner and drinks with friends or climbing or exploring something new downtown. Saturday evenings are often potlucks. I enjoy camping and bike camping are good with good company.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm generally pretty open, if you make like you're interested.
You should message me if
Right now, I'm looking for fun dates, sparky conversations, and adventures with interesting people. Honestly, though, I'm more of a relationshipper than a dater, and if it's not headed that way, I'll let you know (and possibly propose friendship).

Ultimately, I'm looking for an active, adventurous, ambitious partner to build a life with. In addition to compatible ridiculousness, enthusiasm, and intensity, I'm interested in people with goals/passion/direction, compassion, awareness of the world, and general competence, who value health and physical fitness, community, service, and partnership. I'd like us to help each other become our best selves.
More