plides
29 Des Moines, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
plides
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
This profile is about two years old. I'm now a medical student at Des Moines University.

I'm hard to summarize, as I have a lot of contrasts. I like being ridiculous, but also having serious intellectual or emotional conversations. I enjoy meeting new people and deeply connecting with people, but I also need quality alone time. I'm socially liberal, but fairly conservative in my personal choices. I'm busy, but I make time for people and things that are important to me. I'm working on balance.

I'm an evolving person, but some points of stability are my interest in learning about people and the world, caring about people, and being active.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm applying to medical schools. In the mean time, I moved to Minneapolis to be with friends and live in community. I one of my jobs is leading school groups through team-building, archery, climbing, and high ropes courses. I'm back in Portland this quarter to finish a second bachelor's degree (in Biology / pre-med) at PSU.

I dance (blues in particular, and sometimes contact improv), experiment with cooking, keep active, bike/hike/camp, and connect meaningfully with people.
I’m really good at
- Reading and connecting with people: listening to people, being present, making them feel understood and cared about.

- Knowing things, be it about human physiology or medicine, current news, history, science, or anything else I've focused on, or just random things I've picked up along the way. (Eventually, I'll be a professional knower of things.)

- Rolling with change. Last minute spontaneity? Awesome! Plans change for reasons? Ok! Let's have a great time anyway, or do something some other day.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love good food, and especially trying new food. Thai food is my comfort food. I love all kinds of Asian foods and other ethnic food. I enjoy cooking, and I also like trying interesting beers.
The six things I could never do without
1) Spending time with people I feel close to.
2) Independence, space, self-sufficiency. Self-control.
3) Movement: dance, exercise, adventures. Sometimes, travel.
4) Passion, direction, and clarity. It's hard-won, and I value it.
5) Food. I love experimental cooking, or trying new recipes, or going out to eat at interesting new places (or ones known to be excellent).
6) Flexibility balanced with stubborn resilience.
On a typical Friday night I am
In Portland, it's alt-blues/fusion dancing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm generally pretty open, if you make like you're interested. Perhaps even too open, as I'm into connecting. So, ask.

I'm really into cuddling.
You should message me if
Right now, I'm looking for new friends and communities, and connection. I am open to affection and cuddling (but not romance or sex) with new friends.

Ultimately, I'm looking for a long-term partner. In addition to chemistry and a compatible sense of humor, I'm interested in people with goals/passion/direction, compassion, awareness of the world, and general competence, who value health and physical fitness, community, service, and partnership.
More