37Atlanta, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am romantic (or some might say naive) in the sense that I am looking for someone with whom to share my life. I want to be with someone who will care for me, and who will let me care for them. I want to be in a relationship where the two of us together come before any personal goals.

I am Long Island born and raised, and I come from a Jewish family though I have no religious affiliation of my own. I just believe in trying to be a good person. If you are looking for someone with whom to share religious experiences, we may not be a good match. I live a vegan lifestyle and would like to be with someone who is vegetarian or extremely vegetarian-friendly. Some of my core values are animal rights, human rights, fairness and justice.

I love my dog, Ginger, and enjoy taking her on hikes and trips to the park. I like to play tennis, go to movies and the occasional concert, spend time with friends, read, watch TV and movies, and play games. I like to travel, especially to visit family and friends. I spend a lot of time with the people I care about, and not so much time at parties, clubs, etc. I also really value having time to myself; at my core I am more of an introvert than an extrovert.

Words that describe me: thoughtful, caring, pensive, sensitive, anxious, worrier, skinny, witty, funny, charming. Words that do not describe me: macho, chauvinistic, joiner, self-assured, bold, fearless, Republican.

Are you still here? Well, hello! Read on...
What I’m doing with my life
I spend my weekdays working at a children's residential treatment center; I've been working there since moving to Atlanta in 2005. (Actually writing that and doing the math is a little scary.) My non-work life involves spending lots of time with my dog, my friends, and taking the occasional trip to see family up in New York and down in Florida, friends scattered across the country, or hitting Jazzfest in New Orleans.
I’m really good at
having substantive conversations. I really enjoy getting beneath the surface and getting to know people on a deeper level. Small talk, not so much. But the stuff you're not supposed to talk about on a first date - the stuff that might make you think you just met your soulmate or, potentially, realize you don't like each other at all - that is the type of conversation that I find interesting!
The first things people usually notice about me
are my smile and my calm demeanor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Road, Lord of the Rings, Grapes of Wrath, Into Thin Air. The last GREAT book I read was "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?" (there have been good ones since then, but not great). I recently finished the Harry Potter series (better late than never?), and then I tackled Game of Thrones. Every now and then I mix in a non-fiction read, though I don't always make it to the end.

Movies: The Big Lebowski, Star Wars, Donnie Darko, Terminator 1 and 2, The Ice Storm, The Princess Bride, Zoolander, Drive. Superbad is pretty darn funny and may make the list.

Shows: The Wire (best show ever?), Twin Peaks (weirdest show ever?), Game of Thrones (newer best show ever?), 30 Rock, Arrested Development, The Daily Show, the original Law & Order, NY Giants football games, baseball, and golf (when I want to take a nap with the TV on).

Music: BRUUUUUUCE!, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, The Black Keys, Beatles, Stones, Fleetwood Mac, Ryan Adams, Bowie, Radiohead, Arcade Fire, Brian Eno, soul, 50s rock, funk, jazz. I don't care for rap, hip hop, pop country, heavy metal/music that gives me a headache.

Fooooooood: Thai and Mexican for sure (especially Little Bangkok and La Fonda), the veggie/tofu pita wrap at The EARL, the Whole Foods salad and hot bar on Ponce. I've been known to cook the occasional stir fry, vegetarian chili, and pasta primavera. I also make a pretty mean PB&J sandwich.
Six things I could never do without
friends and family, beans and tofu, comfy blankets, sunny days, my dog licking me in the face, Bruce Springsteen.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
1) how to ensure I win my fantasy football league every year; 2) what I can do to make the world a better place. There is an element of truth to both these answers. Pick the one you like better.
On a typical Friday night I am
out with a couple of friends at a local pub or restaurant, hosting poker night at my house, at a friend's house, chilling at home with my dog, or perhaps on a date...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I really like the song Fat Bottomed Girls by Queen, but I admit that freely.
You should message me if
you are a dog lover, like to get out of town on occasion, enjoy time spent chilling at home/at friends' homes/at the occasional bar or pub, and aren't scared off because I am vegan. If you enjoy watching movies, TV series, going to baseball games, hiking where my dog (and perhaps your dog) can roam free, cooking vegetarian meals, hanging out at restaurants, bars, and other places that do not set the table with unnecessary extra pieces of silverware or have a dress code - these are all major pluses. Good spelling and grammar are pluses, too.
The two of us