psyguy47
69 San Rafael, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
psyguy47
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Committed and generous to those I love and care about, introspective, curious about others, determined, liberal but not dogmatic; a realist and a romantic, a planner and a dreamer; loyal to family, friends, colleagues, clients, and fond memories; a lover of small surprises.
What I’m doing with my life
Enjoying my practice as a psychologist (No retirement plans), staying in regular touch with and seeing my daughters and grandkids as often as possible; continually working on running further and faster, but not stressing about it; trying to consistently beat the DJIA, S&P 500, and the Nasdaq Composite.
I’m really good at
Parenting and grandparenting (Well, maybe I'm jumping ahead a bit here since there's not much data yet), taking care of myself and those I love, doing psychotherapy, living a balanced life.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall, look younger than my age (or maybe that's just an illusion I have as the youngest cousin in my extended family on both sides), a good listener, self-confident.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Person to Person: the Problem of Being Human, by Barry Stevens; mysteries generally; anything by O. Henry; classics as by Robert Louis Stevenson, Alexander Dumas, Dickens. Currently reading How to Make Money in Stocks, by William J. O'Neil, which appeals to my "beat the system", contrarian side.

Movies: Three classic Bogie films--Casablanca, of course, To have and Have Not, and the lesser known Dark Passage--the ending of which must have inspired the ending of the Shawshank Redemption; The American President--not really a classic, but I watch the last 20 minutes every time it shows up on TV; a host of New Wave films from the 60's and 70's; and our own film noir, like the original D.O.A.

Music: The Beatles

Food: I'm kind of a short order cook in a healthy if not imaginative vein. Generally, I lack the patience and enthusiasm to do anything more inspired. I like all kinds of cuisine and trying new places.
The six things I could never do without
My daughters and their families
My friends and extended family
My work
Physical and mental facility
Sense of humor about myself and others
The belief that I am making a positive difference in the world , even if on a small scale
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My kids, politics, economic issues, the stock market, how to better promote psychological change in the work I do
On a typical Friday night I am
Spending time with family or friends, or having a relaxing evening at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Getting to where I am in life, I could have done it a lot better, wish I had, and hopefully will.
You should message me if
You get the notion
More