33 Sydney, Australia
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm passionate, free thinking and adventurous. I currently identify as bi-sexual and poly, but believe that sexuality can fluctuate over a lifetime. I love to be surrounded by inspiring, intelligent people who take an interest in the world around them.

My politics lean far to the left, and my sense of purpose comes from a desire to make the world a better place. Granted, this is a rather cliche and vague ambition, and I can hardly call myself an activist anymore. I used to be active in environmental issues in particular. But these days, rather than holding a picket sign, I am searching for a more effective means to generate change.

I'm creative and dabble in various artistic pursuits, from knitting to pottery, because interesting people have interests. I'm more the outdoors type than the nightclub type. I like to camp, hike and swim. But I love living in the city, and going out to pubs and cafes. I also love checking out live music, theater, and pretty much any other form of art.
What I’m doing with my life
I hope to explore as many parts of the world as I can. My desire for new experiences often compels me to jump on a bus, train, or plane, book a place in a backpackers' hostel, and assuage my sense of adventure. Put simply, I love to travel.

On a more practical level, I worked as a primary school teacher for some years now. I chose this profession when I realized it was time to find a grown up job. Then I did a Masters by research, which kept me off the streets for a few years. Now I am also working as a university research assistant. Who knows what might tickle my fancy next?
I’m really good at
Deleting messages from people I am not interested in.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Apparently, I read a lot of narrative/memoir/autobiography. Other people's lives inspire me, particularly when a person overcomes adversity, then writes about it with clarity. I also own a lot of children's books, which is both a testament to my current profession and lifetime love of books. The rest of my shelves are dominated by instructional books, (some outlining hobbies I have yet to engage in), 1960's political history, old textbooks (some are for subjects I never studied, but still wanted to learn about) and pulp fiction.

Lately, I have been listening to entirely too much Kimya Dawson. I also have a soft spot for Ani Difranco and Lisa Mitchell. But when I don't need to get in touch with my inner self-righteous feminist with a guitar, I often listen to music from generations that precede me. Sometimes, it's Janis Joplin, Bob Dylan, Simon and Garfunkel or The Grateful Dead. Other days it might be David Bowie, The Clash, Elvis Costello, James Taylor or Joni Mitchell.

Many of my favourite musicians arguably hit their peak sometime in the 1990s, such as The Lemonheads, Tom Petty, The Shins, Erin Mckeown, Modest Mouse, Belle and Sebastian, They Might Be Giants, The New Pornographers and Built to Spill. I try to be aware of music that's been recorded in this decade. Beirut, The Mountain Goats, Sarah Blasko, Lisa Mitchell, Regina Spektor and Florence + the Machine come to mind.

I like to cook Mexican food, usually simplistic versions of the foods I ate when I studied abroad. I generally prefer simple meals over long preparation times, but if I really like you, I might endeavor to prepare something more elaborate. I enjoy Thai, Indian, Italian, Japanese and the cuisine of cultures I have forgotten to mention.

I was five years old when I saw The Simpsons premiere on prime time TV. Other TV shows have tickled my fancy. But I strongly identified with Lisa Simpson as a child, and have been hooked ever since. I went on an Archer bender while I was teaching up north. The absurdity helped keep me sane.

I watched Empire Records 37 times when I was in Year 8; it was alright too. I'm a big fan of Hedwig and The Angry Inch and Shortbus. I once filmed John Cameron Mitchell at a forum on Queer Media when I was an intern at Dyke TV in Brooklyn. But mostly, TV and movies serve as a backdrop to my crafting activities.
The six things I could never do without
the freedom to travel
wool for knitting
music for listening and playing
iphone for keeping connected to my friends
my vibrator
sensible shoes
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How lucky I am.
On a typical Friday night I am
feeling really old if I am content to be at home enjoying some "quiet time".
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have an online dating profile.
You should message me if
You read my profile, and still want to get to know me. I am eager to make new friends. I generally don't want to date anyone who I wouldn't be friends with, though. No bigots, no cheaters, no stupid pick up lines.