71Annapolis, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Gee, where to start? Warm, active, affectionate, honest, resourceful, sensitive, articulate, well-read (how's that for adjective overload?) tree hugger, avid reader, aspiring Buddhist, fiber artist, film freak, health conscious, mostly vegetarian, flutist, dancer, retired editor, liberal, art and music lover, walker, nature lover, museum goer, "antiquer," traveler...

Who am I looking for? A kind, thoughtful, creative, honest, well-educated, health-conscious, patient, and affectionate gentleman who shares my values and some of my interests and who would like to explore friendship leading to a long-term committed relationship.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm an eager reader of classic and literary fiction, biographies, and history, art history, and other nonfiction. I'm a quilt artist whose work has been shown around the country, and I do other forms of needlework as well. I play flute now and then--in the past in a folk music jam and in Irish sessions. Lately I've been taking drawing, pastel painting, and watercolor painting classes. Other passions include visiting art museums, viewing independent and foreign films, walking, kayaking, exploring historic towns, cooking Italian and French food, traveling...

A retired editor, I've volunteered as an editor at an environmental organization, as a desk docent at an art museum, and with Habitat for Humanity, as well as in the Howard Dean and then John Kerry campaigns. I've also volunteered with The Nature Conservancy, the Kreeger Museum, a university hospital neonatal department, and elsewhere.

In addition to everything else I do, I'm a contra dancer and have also done swing, Cajun, and a tiny bit of Scandinavian couple dancing.

I've lived in eight states and particularly loved the northern California coast. I've also spent a fair amount of time in Rome and traveled in France, Germany, Holland, Belgium, and Lichtenstein as well, enjoying getting to know people of many cultures.

My spiritual search has led me to attending Friends Meeting for several years, to Buddhist study and participation in a weekly meditation group, to a Taoist study group, to Unitarianism, and to a commitment to the environment and its conservation. I feel we are all one with nature. We're not above or outside it but in it. I'm troubled by the overwhelming materialism in our throwaway culture and try to focus my life elsewhere.
I’m really good at
Cooking, contra dancing, forgetting names, decorating, getting carried away by natural beauty, crying at touching movies, monogamy, appreciating fine art and fine craft...
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorites seem endless--Diane Vreeland's The Girl in Hyacinth Blue; the Beatles; Herbie Hancock; Irish music; YoYo Ma; Cecilia Bartoli; Bach; Mozart; The Knack and How to Get It; The Elegance of the Hedgehog; Buddhism; beards; The Wordy Shipmates; The Shadow Catcher; pesto; lobster; shiraz; Trois Gymnopedies; Miles Davis; Nina Simone; Astor Piazzola; key lime pie; The Leopard; Edith Wharton; Henry James; Mark Twain; Jane Austen; William Morris; arts and crafts architecture; Roseville and Japanese pottery; Japanese gardens; Italy; San Francisco; Monterey; Maine coast; Wilmington, NC; early, baroque, and classical music...
Six things I could never do without
Friends, sunshine, woods, water, flowers, puppies, chocolate, curiosity, enthusiasm, Bach, the five senses, health, hope, strength...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Environmental issues, sustainability, artistic expression, love, politics, social issues such as inequality. I often ponder my values and try to figure out how to live them every day, even when it's challenging.
On a typical Friday night I am
Seeing a good film or home doing needlework and watching the PBS News Hour and Washington Week and then reading.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Good luck...
You should message me if
you enjoy going to museums and galleries; kayaking; hiking; antiquing; visiting historic homes and towns; dancing; sailing; discussing politics and social issues; attending independent and foreign films; reading books together; cooking together; playing music together; attending jazz, folk, and classical music concerts and opera
The two of us