35Bloomington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I moved to Bloomington in August 2012 and am on okcupid as a way to meet/date people outside of my department at IU. I'm not really looking for friends (though, if it happens, it happens). I just want to go on dates and get out.

I'm confident in a pretty laid back kind of way. I like being active but have a tendency to be lazy - which makes me appreciate all the more the friends who get me out and about. I enjoy social outings but also require some solitude.

I wish there was time in the day to do all the things that interest me and still be able to support myself. If time and energy weren't an issue, I would do yoga, ride horses, walk dogs, crochet, draw, write, sing, play piano, cook fresh from scratch meals, go see a movie, bake a new dessert, read a book, learn to surf, and hang with friends and family every day.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm pursuing my doctorate at IU - I sing opera.
I’m really good at
Learning languages - I've studied many and would love to be multilingual. I don't see that really happening unless I live abroad, but that might happen!

Singing - I'm pursuing a career in opera, but I love to sing jazz, musical theater, and pop/R&B/etc. I also play a little piano and used to play clarinet and tenor sax!
The first things people usually notice about me
Are my smile and sense of humor.

And that I'm tall!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books - I don't read as much as I'd like to these days, when I do it's usually lighter stuff, but I was raised on the classics. Michael Connely, Barbara Kingsolver, Carl Hiaasen, Jane Austen, Edith Wharton. A few favorites: the Moonstone (Wilkie Collins), Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Adams), Edward Gorey picture books, etc.

Movies: Run Lola Run, Monty Python's the Holy Grail, Philadelphia Story (with Hepburn and Grant), Strictly Ballroom, Singing in the Rain, almost any Almodovar film, almost any John Waters film, Yojimbo, the Thin Man series, Kill Bill, Blazing Saddles...

Shows: I only have a TV so I can watch movies. I'm not against TV, but I tend to get sucked in and end up watching mediocre shows and getting irritated later at the waste of time. I find that I'm usually better off without.

Music: Cafe Tacuba, Portishead, Lady Gaga, Blackalicious, Sia, La Roux, the Shins, A Perfect Circle, Blumentopf, Marcelo D2, Beck, Poe, the Cardigans, the Black Keys, Britney Spears (I have no musical shame), The Opposites, Maldita Vecindad, Beyonce, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Ani Difranco, the Beach Boys, Lauryn Hill, I could go on forever...

As far as classical music goes, I love Puccini, Tchaikovsky, Barber, Prokofiev, Verdi, Mozart, Richard Strauss, Britten, Brahms, Berg, Debussy...

Food: I really love food. I'm always down for Indian, Italian, Thai and Mexican. I also enjoy Ethiopian, Mediterranean, Chinese and more. I love artichokes dipped in butter, and goat cheese on almost anything. I adore soups be it matzoh ball, avgolemeno, tom kah, broccoli cheddar, or red lentil with a spicy sizzle. When I watch a movie I typically break out my hot air popper and make popcorn which I drizzle with butter and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. God I love food. Surprisingly, despite my passion for food I can be a weirdly picky eater though I always give everything a try.
Six things I could never do without
Cheese, paneer tikka masala, music, family, friends, wine
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I want to do career-wise and what I'd be most happy in life doing.

I also think a lot about all the things I'd like to change and improve in this world. Sometimes it's hard to know where to start.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends or watching a movie.
The two of us