maneki___neko
28Minneapolis, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
maneki___neko
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I view myself as different or unique, maybe even weird according to some. I tend to spend a lot of time reading, daydreaming, thinking of things I've heard from the news today and social issues. I like to keep up with current events.

My sister is my best friend.

I like the moon more than the sun.

Fall is my favorite season. There's something about the tree's leaves setting ablaze with color and the air biting against one's cheeks that makes a person seem more alive.

I strive to make my life as balanced as possible.

Nolite te bastardes carborundorum!
What I’m doing with my life
I've recently completed a 2-year tech degree and hope to land a job in my field by the end of this Summer/early Fall. I have a BA in Anthropology and TESL/TEFL

Health and exercise are important to me and I wouldn't be who I am daily without good food, walking or a workout.
I’m really good at
driving and navigating,

answering bar trivia questions,

enjoying a good film,

attempting to finish reading too many books at once,

returning library materials in on time,

discussing current events,

and pointing out small observations to people or rambling on about random tidbits.
The first things people usually notice about me
is that I'm short, but that would be blatantly obvious...

I guess people notice that I'm someone who wants to help out with things and knowing what people are dealing with in life...

oh, and I also get compliments on my red hair...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Old/Out-of-print Books, Psychology, Current Events,
Non-fiction, tech/UX Design, Anthropology/Archaeology, World Religions, Mythology, Politics, Food Issues, Certain Cookbooks, A Handmaiden's Tale by Margaret Atwood (ask me more about specific titles since I rotate through themes on an intermittent basis)

Movies: The Big Lebowski, Fight Club, Films by Miyazaki (Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke, etc.), documentaries, Wes Anderson, Waking life...

Shows: News, Daria, MST3K, Anthony Bourdain, Adventure Time, Last Week Tonight, Portlandia, Bob's Burgers, The Walking Dead, Rick and Morty

Music: Classical MPR, 89.3 the current, Radio K, the Beatles, David Bowie, Talking Heads, Beck, Washed Out, Moby, Polica, Prince, classical music (anything before Shumann/Romanticism).

I also receive a medley of free downloads from various sources. These tracks tend to lean on the side of indie/alternative of musical styles with ethereal qualities to the song.

Food(s): I'll try anything once (within reason, sorry, I'm not Andrew Zimmerman). I'm making the rounds to various restaurants in the metro region. I love pho, sushi, boba tea, most pizza (no pineapple), salads/wraps, good cheeses, craft beer and occasional Sebastian Joe's ice cream!

Comedians: George Carlin, MST3K/Rifftrax, Lewis Black, Bill Hicks, Dennis Leary, Ellen Degeneres, Flight of the Conchords, Jim Gaffigan, Eddie Izzard, Patton Oswalt, Demetri Martin, Dan Mintz, Mitch Hedberg

Art: "Starry Night" by Vincent Van Gogh, Andy Warhol, Japanese Woodcuts/Ukiyoe, Prehistoric/Ancient/Folk/Native Art
Six things I could never do without
my ever-expanding collection of books/my library card

paper and gel ink pens

walks through the woods in fall

a thirst for knowledge

a good nearby farmer's market or Trader Joe's
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I tend to daydream between:

current events and trends,

articles I've read online,

youtube lectures/talks,

and comedy bits I've memorized.
On a typical Friday night I am
As of June 2016, I currently work on Friday nights and weekends but I'd prefer to relax/doing chores at home, going out when I feel like it, cook meals, go hiking with friends or attend meet ups.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm the only person in my family that's never liked coffee.
You should message me if
**You DO NOT want to have kids (biological or adopted)**

we can converse well and share a wide range of ideas in regards to human existence on this world of ours (and other species),

you are fit and want to explore trails and the outdoors together,

if you want to spend time at a local library,

can understand why I'll think out loud or ask a litany of child-like questions, hoping it'll spark a conversation,

you want a girl with a short skirt and a long jacket...
More
The two of us
--
Lifestyle
--
Other
--
Dating
--
Sex
--
Ethics
--
Religion