29Brighton, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hello! I hail from Alaska, land of mountains, bears and mosquitoes the size of birds. I hiccup randomly (usually just once or twice), I've got a penchant for puns and a taste for old Soul music.

A formative force in my childhood was, at age twelve, seeing a production of Animal Farm--the ballet. Another was at age nine, learning that my middle name was Ellen not Mellon. I came home with what I'd thought was my full name signed on a painting, my mother eventually stopped laughing and corrected me.

Random fact: I organize my books by color.
What I’m doing with my life
I've got a degree in film, but for the past couple of years I've been working in a neuroscience lab/citizen science project---I know, random eh? Lately I've been getting to use some skills from my undergrad days at my day job; instructional videos for our website and a couple of web publications. In addition to my sciency job I have an internship on a kind of creepy indie film that's being shot around Boston.

Also sometimes at my day job I get to play with Legos--I spent part of today figuring out how to diagram the parts of the retina with blocks (it'd be much easier if 90% of the blocks weren't one of two shades of green).

Once upon a time I was fluent in Italian, but lack of use these past couple years has rendered me rusty. In an attempt to amend the problem I recently enrolled in a conversational Italian class. Other than that, my fall/winter has been filled with cooking epic meals with friends (we frequently watch Game of Thrones and make viking food), attempting to learn to swing dance, editing Wikipedia articles for kicks, and swimming.

I very much like to build and make things. I'd gotten out of the habit for a bit, this is being remedied by my internship ("Make this stuffed animal into a creepy puppet, okay, now make these severed limbs look real...") and some of the classes I've been taking around town. Metal working? Yes. Hovercraft building contest? Hell yes! <--yes, it hovered, awesome, no?
I’m really good at
Driving a stick shift, painting, cooking (basil pesto and an oddly fabulous pistachio risotto are among my specialties), Scrabble, building things, random Alaskan skills, air hockey, and being so absorbed in my book that I miss my stop on the t.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I am a blur running toward the bus stop. Seriously, my time management skills in the morning leave everything to be desired. Otherwise, my outgoingness, that my glasses are made of wood,* how I am rather loud, or how I may or may not be absentmindedly dancing to the music in the supermarket.

*Update: wooden glasses are currently out of commission (crunched under foot), no worries, they will be fixed in the not too distant future.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Down and Out in Paris and London (by far my favorite Orwell), The Master and Margarita, Gertrude (the Hesse no one's heard of), Lolita, Red Dragon, Cartes Desde El Inferno, Slaughterhouse 5, Mountains Beyond Mountains, Looking Backwards, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Ear the Eye and the Arm, Science of Evil, and The Collector. Recently I've been reading a lot of non fiction-science, politics, some economics.

Movies: Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Wristcutters, Precious, Going Postal, Milk, Johnny Dangerously, Dogma, Santa Sangre, Rent, Philadelphia, Eternal Sunshine, Fight Club, Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory, and 1960s musicals (my dad is a big fan, it rubbed off).

Music: Magnetic Fields, The Dresden Dolls, Foxy Shazam, CAKE, Bright Eyes, Michael Jackson, Jesus and Mary Chain, Stevie Wonder, Carl Carlton, Adam and the Ants,, World Inferno, The Cure, Earth Wind and Fire, Mavis Staples.

TV: Law and Order, House of Cards, Nip/Tuck, Mythbusters, Criminal Minds, Roseanne, Sherlock (BBC version), Game of Thrones.

Foods: Italian, Indian, and Korean are all fantastic, but I'll try anything once, i.e. I've tried snails, moose head stew, chicken feet and muktuk (go ahead and ask what it is).

Other favorite things
Favorite classes: Rocket building (practical physics?) Catapult (even less practical physics), Sitcom writing (for two weeks my homework was to watch South Park)

Podcasts: The Savage Lovecast.
Six things I could never do without
Being able to hear, green pens, tomatoes, cheese, sunscreen(curse my pale Alaskan skin!), T pass.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What would happen if?
On a typical Friday night I am
My friends and I do 'Family Dinner' every other Friday or so. A bunch of us meet up to grill or make pizza and drink beer. Sometimes we end the evening by playing Cards Against Humanity or watching a movie--but lately we've just been enjoying in the lovely warm weather while chatting on the porch.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I take this to mean say something really embarrassing? Anyone else noticed that their threshold for embarassment is much higher now than it was as a teenager? I thought I would actually die of shame at the time of both these anecdotes---now, ha!

When I was eleven I leaned against a wall, slipped and accidentally pulled a fire alarm.

Once back when I was an alter server I threw up spectacularly during a rather important part of the mass. Worse, I stood there frozen for over a minute until my Mom came up to shoo me away. Worse still, a week later a little old lady told me (publicaly) that I "throw up very gracefully."
You should message me if
If my profile grabbed you or you think yours will grab me.

Goofy/geeky/kinky/crafty (as in the type who likes to build things, not the sneaky sort) guys are especially encouraged.

Lastly, there badly needs to be more Scrabble in my life. We should play.
The two of us