43 San Rafael, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I tend to be a spectrum of contradictions that I hold in balance: an extroverted introvert, an optimistic pessimist, an athletic geek, an intellectual sensualist, a hopeless romantic who loves sex when with the right person. I need a balance of nature and the city. Can’t we have our cake and eat it too… as long as we share?

Genetically I'm a mutt. Maybe that's why I like rescue dogs. German and Ukrainian on my mom's side, African American and Cherokee on my dad's. My accent is a mix of east coast, and west coast US, grounded in the fact that as a kid I learned to speak around British English while my folks were in Southern Africa. So I often come across as overly formal and polite in general speech, and have a somewhat reserved demeanour, but I can also crack jokes and pun like hell when relaxed, and can swear like a sailor during something competitive.

I've been a bit of a traveler, a wanderer and a hired gun (design mercenary). I've lived and worked around the US and Canada in the last 16 years, and now I'm starting to settle in San Francisco, after having meant to move here ages ago. Now, I'm looking forward to making new friends and acquaintances, and building out a life in a city I've known for a long time that I'd love.

I grew up bicoastal, Seattle and Boston, and spent time living outside of the states. Recently? In North America, I've lived in Seattle, Boston, Providence, New York, Austin, Toronto, Los Angeles, Edmonton, Vancouver, Dallas and now San Francisco. Whew! Yeah, its been fun, but now I'd like to do SF for a long time and need to find a special someone to do it with.

I'm a professional creative, game designer, writer, techie, artist, director, producer, project manager. I love my career, but always try to balance it with a life that makes it all worth living. I'm a questing soul. I live life to the fullest. I'm a foodie, an amateur cook, an athlete, and an urban explorer.

I've been a vegetarian in the past, and a pescatarian. A succession of girlfriends got me to eat, seafoods, then poultry, then everything. Currently my diet is pretty much anything, but I'm respectful of vegetarians and have never been a big red meat eater. I'd rather have sushi than steak, and I don't mind tofu in my curry. I still like my veggies, and generally eat very healthy. I eat a pretty broad range of food. While I can chow down on a good salad, I can eat enough sushi for 2 or 3, which my wallet regrets. And some friends and I would have an informal competition to see how many raw oysters we could eat. Not a strict competition, more a 'these are too good to stop.' I do love my seafood, and I'm happy to be back in Cali for that. When I go to brunch I often order two entrees, one sweet and one savory, especially if I'm going hiking after, fuel for the trip. I have a sweet tooth and a spicy tooth. Back in Texas, I'd go into my favorite Thai place and order curries at the "full native" 5 star spicy. And I've completed the Buffalo Wild Wings Blazin' Challenge. High tolerance for heat.
What I’m doing with my life
Exploring, creating, sharing, living, loving, indulging, recording, analyzing, trying to make the people, and places around me better for my presence.

Enjoying the balance of cities and nature. Building myself, sharing and touching the lives of those around me. Enjoying the world around us for the complexity of culture and history we've inherited.

Changing the world from the inside out, by creating the stories and mythology that new generations will learn from. Making art, building worlds.
I’m really good at
--driving stickshift on the hills of SF
--Throwing elaborate dinner parties.
--Planning excursions
--Being active and athletic (I do a 6 minute mile, run almost daily, bike, need to get back to training for triathlons, hit the gym, various team sports, and I've recently started learning to rock climb)
--Finishing the thoughts of my significant other when she says, "do you remember that we watched/listened to a few years ago? What was that?"
--Lounging at home with a bottle of wine, a good album mix on, and either (a) a good book in hand, (b) a notebook steadily filling with half formed ideas, (c) a movie on, or (d) pulling a certain someone under the covers.
-- Game design, making videogames, and other forms of interactive media
The first things people usually notice about me
(1) My broad smile.
(2) I'm tall and athletic.
(3) You probably can't place my race/ethnicity without the little guide I added. I've been asked if I was just about everything under the sun.
(4) My energy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My tastes in all things end to be broad ranging and eclectic. I'm an explorer and a media/information junkie. I skip between film, literature, television, music, and games sampling each. I love the art, craft and science of creation and I have an encyclopedic memory. I enjoy, synthesize, catalog and create.

Food: (anything ethnic) Thai, Japanese, Mexican, Chinese, Indian, Ethiopian, Spanish, Italian, Nepalese, Pacific Northwest Native, Cajun, Nepalese, Jamaican, Trinidadian, Vietnamese, classic New England, Middle Eastern, and Tex-Mex (yes it's different from Mexican), and so much more, yes I'm a bit of a foodie, there's so much good food to explore, eat and cook!

Television: BBC Documentaries, The Wire, Walking Dead, Community, The Daily Show, The Colbert Report, Dexter, Game of Thrones, True Blood, Twin Peaks, The Simpsons, Futurama, Battlestar Galactica, Mad Men, Good Eats, et al.

Film: I can geek out on directors, Hayao Miyazaki & Isao Takahata, Afred Hitchcock, Andrei Tarkovsky, Michel Gondry, Francois Truffaut, Mamoru Oshii, Kenji Mizoguch, Akira Kurosawa, Satoshi Kon, Wong Kar Wai, David Fincher, Darren Aronofsky, Jan Svankmajer, Zhang Yimou, Chen Kaige, Christopher Nolan, Wes Anderson, Pierre Jeunet & Mark Caro, Chang Cheh, but I can also sit down and watch sci-fi, horror, drama, political thrillers, period drama, crime, comedy, anime, stop motion animation, early silent films, and even some smart romantic comedies. Each has its place.

Music: fairly eclectic, (most anything except country) offhand, I tend to listen to a lot of Electronica, but also Pop, Classic Rock, Alt Rock, Dance, Folk, Jazz, Blues, World Music. What could you find in my iPod? Bonobo, LTJ Bukem, Buddha Bar, DJ Shadow, Orbital, Black Eyed Peas, Lady Gaga, Thievery Corporation, The XX, U2, Gorillaz, Pink Floyd, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, John Coltrane, Abdullah Ibrahim, Nina Simone, Peter Gabriel, Cinematic Orchestra, Miles Davis, Alice Coltrane, Galactic, K-OS, Sasha, Crystal Method, The Police, Outkast, Shanghai Restoration Project, Mogwai, The Beatles, Brian Eno, Groove Collective, Underworld, The Black Seeds, The Orb, and so many more. I probably have one of the largest music collections you'll find outside of a DJ.

Books (a few recent ones): Who Fears Death, Man Play Games, Flow The Psychology of Optimal Experience, Emergence, What Videogames have to Teach us About Learning and Literacy, The Dream of Perpetual Motion
The six things I could never do without
1) Family & Friends (to keep me grounded)
2) Mobile (iPhone/iPad) (to keep me connected)
3) Computers (to work on) (Macbooks & I build my WinPC towers)
4) Passport (& car & bicycle) (to explore)
and the duality of:
5) Nature (& the great outdoors & sun)
6) Cities (& culture & food)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Leaving a legacy of creation behind me.
Finding the perfect woman.
Where to go exploring next.
Finding flavourful, spicy ethnic food and drink.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either chilling at home with the aforementioned good food and drink with music playing, or heading out on an excursion to explore local culture.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
--When we know each other, in the meantime, some ramblings. When I was little I wanted to be an astronaut, I thought about being a pilot until I learned I'd need to go into the military. I'm more pirate than soldier. So that didn't work. Meanwhile, I studied astrophysics until I discovered girls, and then thoughts of leaving for space drifted away. I do still think of space travel. In another life, in another time, I'd be a buccaneer or starship pilot. I guess I'll just have to get a sailboat one of these days and see where it takes me.
--I tend to be a heat source when sleeping. Works well if my other gets cold at night.
You should message me if
You think you can keep up with me. You want a balance of intellectual and sexual, cultural and athletic stimulation.
You can't wait to run off on new adventures together.
I need a partner in crime. The two of us against the world.

If you have your own balancing act. If you can be caring and roguish, sweet and sensual, classy and slutty, sophisticated and geeky and active. I'm looking for someone who realizes these things are all a mix, different ingredients needed in the right measure, and you've found the best, tastiest most intriguing recipe that they built into their life.

Please be fit and active. Just turned 41 and still have the basic body shape and weight I did when I was 21. I'm not asking for anorexia, but athleticism, healthy diet and an active lifestyle on the dancefloor, out on a mountain and in bed are all important to me. I'd like to be running the Boston Marathon like my grandfather did when he was 70. I'm tall, slender and athletic. I appreciate the right curves, but I'm mostly looking for a woman who is slender and athletic.

WARNING: Any institutions or individuals using this site or any of its associated sites - you DO NOT have permission to use any of my profile data or pictures in any form or forum both current and future. If you have or do, it will be considered a violation of my privacy and will be subject to legal ramifications.