40San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
When I was a kid, my dad loved to talk about the rapids by his house. He taught himself to swim there as no one nearby knew how, and taught me as soon as I could walk. I visited those rapids recently. Well... they're more like a creek.

I have my own tall tales now from work and study stints. But what travel really taught me is community. So I'm laying down roots in this crazy city, and looking to explore it with someone new.
What I’m doing with my life
I've worked in tech, developed large solar projects, and am now building an app for first-time homebuyers.

I'm drawn to activities that connect me to people I otherwise wouldn't meet, like rugby in London, Airbnb, Alcatraz swim with old guys who don't wear wetsuits (I do), and yoga training at an ashram. I'm helping friends start a shipping-container-house community in West Oakland.

I work out and eat well most days, and always welcome ways to spice up the routine. When I'm somewhere new, I like to scope put all the options nearby. There's nothing I won't try on a dare.

On the weekends, I live for spur-of-the-moment getaways. Stop looking. You won't find another guy who sets up tent with a posh memory foam surface.
I’m really good at
seeing different perspectives, embracing different communities, and finding common ground... having lived in Germany, Spain, England, China, and up & down the west coast, I've had every kind of flatmate you can imagine!
The first things people usually notice about me
Millennia of natural selection on rice paddies have given me strong legs. Disney should feature a Prince Charming with big calves.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Food - I like cuisine that reminds me of warm places, like Thai, Mediterranean, & Burmese. I am hosting my potluck group this month, open to suggestions on the theme.

Books - I enjoy memoirs & bios because they interweave culture, history, & psychology with storytelling. My library request list includes social science writers like Gladwell & Saposky.

Music - Festivals like HSB, Outside Lands, & Stern Grove are among my favorite things about SF. I dig crazy riffs, intriguing lyrics, or simple melodies.
Six things I could never do without
Folding bike.
How-to videos.
Healthy options.
Inspirational people.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how to explain things better.
what I can learn from each experience.
when to trust my gut, and when to seek more info.
On a typical Friday night I am
trying a new local hangout.
loading up for a Saturday adventure.
being creative with what's left in the fridge.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I started keeping a notepad by my nightstand to jot down my dreams. There's good stuff there, but it's mostly gibberish.
You should message me if
you're smart & conscientious.
you're not done growing yet.
you bring out the best in people.

If you feel like it, rate me 4 or 5 so we might get quickmatched.
The two of us