38Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I grew up in a CT suburb close to NYC (after moving 6 times before age 13 including a 1 year stint in Europe so I am used to making new friends and blending in) with a traditional southern family that has played a large role in who I am (yes, I was in a sorority, wore headbands in high school, was a "deb", and although I don't always identify with all of that now, my upbringing did shape me in ways I am proud of). And clearly, I am a bit wordy...

I identify myself as a "laid back type A" who believes in manners, hand written thank you notes, monograms and the healing power of the color pink.
I have lived in NYC since graduating from college and have had a full time fairly demanding job ever since, but I am by NO MEANS a workaholic, I live for weekends. I love the beach A LOT, skiing (not snowboarding, I am old school) and am an avid traveler. Oh, and once I ran a marathon without training, but that was a momentary lapse of sanity that I am proud of but cant imagine doing again. It is a fun story though. I do love to exercise and I try to make time for it most days of the week.
What I’m doing with my life
Professionally I just made the switch to a fully digital marketing role after over decade in the "Creative Services/Marketing" sector of large fashion magazines.
Personally I am often found at the gym or any type of wild physical stress reliever, spending time with friends & family, enjoying dining out in NYC, reading, and planning my next trip (I know its a common theme on OKC, but I really mean it: I live to travel).
I’m really good at
-selecting songs on a juke box anywhere, anytime, that get a whole bar up and dancing, the dive-ier the bar the better
-talking, laughing and sharing
-making nachos out of pretty much any product (no need for cheese, salsa or chips but they certainly help)
-making others feel comfortable and welcome
-laying on a beach for hours on end
-being a travel buddy (the more adventurous/rugged and crazy the journey the better)
-being helpful to both friends and strangers
-writing profiles for OKC that are way too long and don't say much that is unique
The first things people usually notice about me
I have a ton of energy and love to talk, share stories, laugh and I am an OPEN BOOK.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
sorry, too much to share here, its overwhelming to me and I feel like everyone tries to outsmart each other with books and indie flicks so I am refraining.
I will say I am a proud classic rock fan (some say I was born in the wrong generation), perhaps airing on the side of easy listening (more than hard rock), and love folk singers/songwriters, I couldn't live without Joni, Carole, Carly, James Taylor, Fleetwood (specifically Stevie), CSNY, Otis, Nina Simone, Cat Stevens, The Band, etc. I love most food and live to eat out.
Six things I could never do without
1. Friends and family (my almost 6 year old nephew rocks my world!)
2. Running Shoes (especially when I am traveling- best way to organically explore)
3. Music- a constant in my life
4. A Camera: endless photo worthy moments in NYC and beyond
5. iPhone (more for work reasons and the camera/music on it)
6. My Passport (I really do keep it in my wallet just in case)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My next big adventure, how to be a better me and thus be better for those around me (personally & professionally....), how to stay in the moment and relax more.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out to dinner with friends, recovering from work, psyched it is Friday. Occasionally I am home, watching Dateline, 20/20, 48 Hours, a DVR'd 60 minutes, doing some laundry and enjoying the idea of no alarm clock waking me up.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am a total nerd when it comes to academics and love to keep learning. I was "that girl" at university in the front row- you know her- the one raising her hand at every occasion, and veraciously taking notes... but hey, it served me well, graduated magna cum laude (and I have never once since graduating been asked about my education in a single interview, so...).
You should message me if
You live in NYC, are driven, confident, successful (or getting there... emotionally and however you define success for yourself professionally), attractive and fit (but cool with chilling out with the infamously (odd) nachos), love to travel and are up for high and low end adventures, and are OK with someone with admittedly "high" (but positive) energy.
The two of us