48 Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
[June 2012] I recently changed jobs and after 20 years of seeing virtually nothing but Windows in the business world, suddenly I'm working on a Mac, and writing for the iPad. This is probably the first trendy thing I've done in my life.

But back to OkCupid: it's long past time to update my profile. Best to shorten it a bit.*

I'm a software developer and a bit of a nerd, but I have a strong creative streak and at least as much appreciation for the arts as for science and technology. I started out in the theatre and somehow became a programmer by way of being a lighting designer.

I'm very much an urbanite, but I love spending time outside of the city, especially well outside of it. What I don't think I'll ever get is the idea of suburbia, though in recent years I've warmed up somewhat to the charms of small-town life. To me the keys are diversity and walkability.

I'm not much into sports (playing or watching), but I do enjoy walking and biking, and sometimes activities like skiing, whitewater rafting, and spelunking. I'd say I'm about a seven on the adventure-seeking scale.

I like to cook, and am inclined to go for complex, spicier foods. I do eat meat, but not necessarily a lot of it, and I seem to be naturally working my way down the food chain as I get older anyway.

I'm a pretty hardcore atheist. I accept what we have so far scientifically discovered about the universe and the origins of life, and believe that eventually we will understand it as best as we can. From there, of course, it gets really interesting. But to make one thing absolutely clear, I don't believe that there's some guy in the sky judging us all. Or that Jesus died for my sins.

I don't own a car or a gun. I don't do Facebook or Twitter.
*If you're really that bored, you can see a little more at my website, http://www.robincarduner.com. But it's still pretty out-of-date. See What I'm doing with my life, below.
What I’m doing with my life
I own an old row house and have been spending a lot of time on renovations, especially over the summer when I can open the windows. Right now I'm working on the main hallway (upstairs and downstairs), stripping all the old paint from the woodwork, including the stairs and the banister.

Spending way too much time rewriting my OkCupid profile...?
I’m really good at
Writing software and technical documentation. I'm sure I have some other talents, but these are the only ones that help pay the bills.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: A fair amount of English literature: Wuthering Heights, Persuasion, and Emma are some favourites there. Going back a couple of centuries and on to the stage, I definitely like me some Shakespeare, but I'm picky about my performances. Göedel, Escher Bach. The Phantom Tollbooth (and The Dot and the Line of course). The Economist.

Movies: Like Water for Chocolate, Memento, The Princess Bride, some by Hayao Miyazaki, Charlie Kaufman.

Music: As with most people, my tastes have changed over the years, and oddly enough, now that the format is more convenient than ever, I find I listen to music a lot less than I used to. In any case, past faves have included the Beatles, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, Yes and Rush; Kate Bush, Miranda Sex Garden, Hooverphonic, Delerium, and Lords of Acid; Queen, Poe, Funki Porcini, Fluke, and Enigma. Beethoven's 6th, 7th, and 9th symphonies get fairly frequent auditions.

Television: Doctor Who (mostly the old series, but I'm okay with the new one as well, especially now with Steven Moffat at the helm), Monty Python, Fawlty Towers, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (the original radio & television series, not the movie), Firefly and Serenity, The Simpsons, Futurama. I like the original U.K. version of The Office, but I also liked the American edition for a while, too. I stopped watching it a few years ago though.

Food: Spicy -- especially Middle Eastern and Indian. Garlic. Olives, pasta, blackcurrant and Earl Grey tea. Cheese. Chocolate.

Whisky: Laphraoig.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a member of Prozac Nation. (Well, not technically Prozac, but one of its relatives.)

I'm also a member of The 420 Club, though I haven't been spending too much time there lately.

I have a mild case of heterochromia. It's only noticeable now if you look closely (or when I become overheated), but it was more pronounced when I was a kid.

My kitty uses the toilet.
You should message me if
You like my profile.

You are intelligent, but warm-hearted; ideally if you have an artistic background or interests, and have a liberal, open mind. (And I'm referring here to the TRUE sense of liberalism, based on individual freedom, generosity towards others, belief in progress, and acceptance of change.)

You are adventurous, outgoing, and not a picky eater.

Ideally, I'm looking for something a little more than plain vanilla in the bedroom, and it would be helpful if you're at least open to the possibility of a little kink. Seriously, nothing degrading or abusive, but at least imaginative. I like the sense of touch, and I like to concentrate; you should be able to do the same.

You must accept the basic idea of evolution and that the planet is more than 6,000 years old. If you believe that "God" set everything in motion some 13 billion years ago at the instant of the big bang, then that might be a workable compromise, but if you insist that he put fossils on the planet to test our faith then it just ain't gonna work out.

This has been stated by many others, but I think it's a good rule: you should know the difference between it's and its, and your and you're. (And of course yore, but that one's rarely a problem!)