41Oshkosh, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi! My name is Jim. I am a 32-year old guy, currently living in Oshkosh, WI. I work full-time as a carpenter for a military contractor and go to school full-time as well. I am a freelance web developer and contract-for-hire programmer (specializing in VB/C#/C++ with or without .NET dependencies and managed code). Additionally, I am a tutor for Math, Programming, Science (with a Physics specialty), and Random Knowledge.

I am a very busy guy, but am looking for someone to spend some time with, at least on a limited basis at first. I don't have a lot of time for a social life, but I do like to go out once in a while, and going to the movies or anything else is not fun at all when you do so by yourself. I have only been in the area for about a year now, and have not met a lot of people due to my work and school schedules.

I just realized that there is no real place for hobbies on this here OkCupid profiling system thingamajiggy. So I am adding my own in this section. Just because I can do so.

I have a lot of hobbies. In fact, I have more than I would be able to list here, but I will list some of them. I will also add to this section as I figure out which hobbies I want on here. I love cooking, with that goes baking. I like to make things up in the kitchen, just to try new things. Usually it turns out pretty good, although sometimes it is absolutely horrible. I also enjoy drawing, writing, reading, watching funny YouTube videos, quilting (yes, I DO know how to quilt. Quite well, in fact!), watching movies, playing board games, video games, card games, and other kinds of games, I am pretty decent at magic, including card tricks (no playing poker with me ;).

Again, I will add some more as I figure out more things I want to add to my list.

I am quirky, spontaneous, and intellectual
What I’m doing with my life
I am currently going to school to get a programming degree. Another 2-3 years or so depending on my courseload and my workload. I am planning on working for a large game developer straight out of school, and starting my own design firm at some point down the road.

I also am an independent game developer, and am currently a project lead with Black Hat Games. I have a number of projects in the works right now, and hope to have at least a couple of them ready for testing by the end of the year. I will keep you all posted on how that is going.

Additionally, I am a musician and am currently working on three different albums. Yes, three of them. Each a different style. One of them is kind of funny, and based on Lord of the Rings Online. Have I mentioned how much of a geek I am? I mean seriously?
I’m really good at
I am really good at programming (I can program in 10+ languages). I am also really good at cooking, eating, and beating everyone in trivia quizzes. I am kind of good at drawing (mostly abstract stuff), singing/songwriting (I have an album) and music in general (I play a number of instruments, some better than others.)
The first things people usually notice about me
The first thing people usually notice about me is that I speak in Geek. Not Greek, but Geek. I am very tech-oriented, and love both new gadgets, new science, and computers.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite books include anything by the following authors: Terry Goodkind, Isaac Asimov, Piers Anthony, Dean Koontz. At least off the top of my head. I do enjoy both science and fantasy fiction a lot, and I am known to read non-fiction books as well. The dictionary and encyclopedia are great reading if you don't know what to read.

Favorite movies include Lola Rennt (aka Run, Lola, Run), Boondock Saints, the Harry Potter films, Terminator, Die Hard. I like a lot of movie genres, however, and am usually up to seeing whatever. I can generally tell if a movie is going to be enjoyable in the first half hour.

Favorite music includes Counting Crows, Norah Jones, DragonForce, Green Day, Save Ferris, and a whole lot of others. You can view my playlist at anytime by going to I have a very eclectic music collection on there.

Favorite foods cannot possibly be described in this small space. I love to both cook and eat. I am half Korean, so spicy is wonderful to me (and not that "almost" spicy at most places. Spicy as in make your eyes burn out of your head when you smell the aroma.

I didn't realize this before, but there is no section on here for television. People still do watch those things... Anyhoo, here is a short list of the shows I currently happen to like to watch as I am studying: Terminator: Sarah Connor Chronicles, Bones, House, and Fringe. Fringe is the newest show on Fox, and has turned out to be quite interesting.
Six things I could never do without
Six things I could never do without:

1) My computer.
2) My phone.
3) An internet connection.
4) Some type of game, either board game or video game or something.
5) Fringe.
6) My lactose pills. (Being from Wisconsin, cheese is a required daily food.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I spend a lot of time thinking about programming, my future, and any of the other 10 billion things that pop into my head at random during the course of any given day. I wouldn't say that I am completely scatterbrained, but I have a tendency to be thinking about 10 different things at once, while holding 15 conversations, reading books for my classes, doing homework, and writing multiple programs on one of my two computers. Somehow, I still managed to find some time to post here.
On a typical Friday night I am
On a typical Friday night, I am sitting in front of my computer talking to random friends, playing a video game, and working on some programming project, generally at the same time.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a sucker for a sly wink.

Also, I love the combination of freckles and glasses. Just something about those two when they are put together that gets me going...

Oh, and I also love red hair and green eyes.

None of those things are required, mind you, I just happen to fall kind of hard. Moreso when they are all in one person (freckles + red hair + green eyes + glasses = me falling out of my skin.)
You should message me if
You should message me if you are looking for a friend. If something more happens, then so be it, but first friends.

Additionally, if you want someone to tell you that you are special (and everyone is!) then send me a message. I will do my best to cheer you up.
The two of us