renewable_cupid
34 Emeryville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
renewable_cupid
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Raised artist, turned scientist, but still work on doing both. Grew up in a small town in Northern California, but have known and loved the Bay Area for years.

Studied Earth System Science, interdisciplinary - geography, geology, biology, physics, chemistry, environmental studies, etc.

Enjoy cooking, photography, biking...

Working at a biomass energy & carbon sequestration start up.
What I’m doing with my life
When not working or being introspective: surfing the web - metafilter, boingboing, reddit, TED, worldchanging, pruned, laughingsquid, google scholar

When not exploring the series of tubes, exploring places by bike. Thinking up interesting things to cook.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies:
Many things Pixar. Sita Sings the Blues. Amelie. Hugo.
(things involving Michael Bay don't really draw me)
So bad it's good: The Core

Food (a sampling):
Heirloom Tomatoes
Trumpet Mushrooms
Tasty Greens (I seem to have an unusual affinity for arugula - snacking on a bag of fresh arugula will sub for a bag of chips)
Most cuisines - Thai/Indian/Italian/Japanese

Liquids: loose coffee, leaf tea, or a good IPA.

Music:
Likes: Balkan Beat Box, Brass Menazeri, Diego's Umbrella, Beats Antique, Gramatik, March Forth & Extra Action Marching Bands, Movits!.

Events and activities I find interesting include:
Maker Fair, dorkbot, Bioneers, Long Now talks, farmer's markets, Oakland Art Murmur, biking around town
The six things I could never do without
Water, food, oxygen, interesting things to ponder, the natural world, the number six.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to make the world a better place
The environmental impacts of various technologies
Whether to go back to the giant dusty lake bed in the Nevada desert late August (skewing not).
On a typical Friday night I am
Possibly out dancing to music with a good beat, going to Art Murmur, riding with Bike Party, or working if need be.
You should message me if
You'd like to.
More