70 Ridgefield, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
First the basics – I am 70 years old. Physically I am 5'10" and 190 lbs, blue eyes and salt and pepper hair. I am divorced (married only once) and do not have children.

I was born and raised in Wisconsin. I have lived in Philadelphia, Munich, Paris, London and Silicon Valley before I moved to Vancouver WA in the summer of 1996. Professionally I worked with computers and I am now retired. I have always been physically active. For more than 20 years I have studied the Japanese martial art Aikido. I have run marathons in the 2:40s. Now in addition to Aikido I do a little weight training, ride my bike 100 plus miles a week during the summer and swim in the winter. My house is on 4 ½ acres with 900 feet of creekfront and I am very busy working on maintaining and improving the property.

I have fairly wide interests. I have had subscriptions to Portland Center Stage and Artist Repertory Theater since the 1999-2000 season. I enjoy nearly all kinds of movies – good ones. I grew up in Wisconsin when Vince Lombardi coached. Sundays in the fall I like to watch the Packer game in the morning and Masterpiece in the evening. (Watching sports is a seasonal not an every weekend activity. Except for classics like the Rose Bowl or Final Four, pro football is the only sport that I have a “full season” interest in.) The PBS Newshour is my source for TV news. My favorite television program has become Charlie Rose. I enjoy the in depth discussion of the wide range people that he interviews. For drama – Masterpiece and for comedy Doc Martin. I thought Breaking Bad, House of Cards were outstanding. I absolutely abhor this trend to “reality” shows like American Idol.

I enjoy good food and wine. For the past several years friends and I have been making visits to wine country in Oregon, Washington and California to ensure that the wineries continue to produce good wines :-) I enjoy cooking and am an excellent cook. I have a large vegetable garden so that I can have fresher and tastier vegetables.

I enjoy music but it is not a great passion for me and there is not a great spectrum of music I enjoy. Primarily it is jazz, followed by classical. The radio station I listen to is KMHD.

I am looking for the same thing that we all look for – love and lust at first sight that lasts forever. I have had love and lust at first sight but clearly it has not lasted forever :-) I am not looking for an email pal, for an activity partner, for a long distance relationship or to do “long term dating.” I am looking for a partner. A life lived together. I know that it will take a good bit of time to get there from first meeting.

I believe that an “aligned” set of interests are an absolute requirement for a happy and successful relationship. Some that we should already have and some that we will add. Those interests are on two levels – a cultural level – theater, travel, current events, good food, movies, reading, … – and a physical level – hiking, cycling, …

I also know that some “unaligned” interests can be “deal killers.” And sometimes it can be the “NOTs.” Sorry to be negative :-) I have come to believe that it is really clarity that is next to godliness :-) Some NOTs to help you in that process of elimination we all do.

I do not smoke (never did) and expect the same from you. I am not in any way spiritual or religious. I do not demean any belief. I write this so that if you are on the opposite end of the spectrum – you go to church every Sunday for example – we are probably not compatible. I do not dance. If you are looking for someone who will go swing dancing in the evenings, I am not your man. I do not downhill ski. I have done cross-country skiing and might take it up again with a partner or snowshoeing. I do not play golf. I have no interest in motorcycles.

Although I do not have any children – due to circumstance – I do like and enjoy them. I consider my relationships with my nephews to be good ones. If you have children and grandchildren, I am expecting that you have and enjoy great relationships with them. And look forward to having these relationships in my life. However, I am at the stage in my life where I am not interested in raising children. If your children are younger than late teens, we are not a good match.

I have no interest in long drawn out email exchanges. When I read a woman’s profile the big question I ask is “Will meeting this woman be interesting and enjoyable ?” If I have contacted you then I have found enough in your profile to think that we might be compatible and am ready meet you for “coffee.” I am happy to email back and forth as a “get to know you conversation” but after 4 or 5 email exchanges it is time for us to set up a meeting.
What I’m doing with my life
Internet dating :-)
I’m really good at
Procrastination :-)