55Chicago, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I like to have fun, spend time with friends and make new ones. I am (almost) done raising my 3 daughters, Phase 1 (the last one left for college). Phase 2 will be when they find me, realize that I was NOT the dumbest human on the planet and ask my advice about stuff. ;)

I enjoy my job in Chicago much more now that I live in Lakeview and don't commute from the suburbs.

Now is my time. I need to get into the neighborhoods, restaurants, museums, music venues, shows and have a good time. Would love to have someone to share with.

I am the oldest of 7 and we are spread from coast to coast. We enjoy getting together whenever we can. Mom and Dad and Stepmom live within an hour. I talk to them and see them frequently.
What I’m doing with my life
My youngest daughter left for college 2 months ago. I have a ton of free time now.

I love to travel and have had the opportunity to do it for both work and pleasure. I enjoy the beach as well as the mountains. I have a thing for our National Parks...I would like to visit all of them over the coming years. I am also happy on a beach with a drink in my hand, soaking up the sun, playing or just people-watching.

I sold my Gold Wing that I had for 27 years (a few other bikes before this one, as I realized I needed more power, cruiser, comfort in a bike) this past Spring. i really miss it and look forward to getting a new motorcycle this coming Spring. Motorcycling is not a lifestyle for me (although I have ridden to Maine and the Florida Keys) but more of a hobby. It is one of many things that I like to do.

I still spend time with friends from high school and college, sometimes traveling with them or to go see them. We keep in touch as they were an important part of my life, and they still are.
I’m really good at
Listening, communicating, stepping up to help out in any situation, being thoughtful about what others are sensitive to or are feeling. Being a Dad. I spent some time as Mr. Mom, staying home with my girls when they were younger, getting involved in the school, tutoring, being on the PTO board, organizing fundraisers.

I am really good at giving attention to the special person that is in my life. I try hard to understand what they like, dislike, appreciate, what turns them on or off. And then, play to those preferences. Not in an insincere way, but rather because I truly want her to be happy, content, to look to me for comfort and understanding.
The first things people usually notice about me
Man, that guy's big! Hey he's a smiley kind of guy! At least I hope that's what they notice. Yeah, somewhere under the big suit is the guy that used to be a jacked powerlifter. But, when you don't continue the workouts because you use raising your kids and working as excuses, you end up wearing the big suit.

I hope people will see me for the happy person that I am, the person that tries to see the good in people and the optimistic side of things.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read all kinds of stuff, from biographies of sports stars and presidents to pop culture magazines (gotta keep up with the latest dirt the kids are talking about), to current best sellers, the newspaper, history, politics...

My all-time favorite movies are The Last of the Mohicans, Top Gun, The Blues Brothers, The Fighter, Ted, Stripes, The Right Stuff...there are so many good ones, too many to list...I'm all over the board. Yeah, I'll go see the chick flick with you, but you better not tell anyone ;)

I watch a few shows...Chicago Fire & PD, Sons of Anarchy, Nashville, Hawaii 5-0 (yeah, I was around when the original aired in the '60's), The Big Bang Theory. Glad for DVR as I can knock most of them out in 1 night at home and not waste every night in front of the tube.

Country and rock...but I'll listen to most anything. I like going to music venues and fests to hear new, and old, bands.

You don't get to be my shape by disliking many types of food. I cook and prefer to make Italian or grill on the barbeque. But I like most anything.
Six things I could never do without
You know, I think you have to be flexible and try to make the best of any situation. This is a hard question. I try not to be dependent on material things.

Recognize that all things/situations are fleeting...enjoy now and let people know that you appreciate them for who they are.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My fantasy football team. What's for dinner? Sex. Is that guy gonna blow through that stop sign? Fiscal cliff? Does she know her hair looks like that? Do I really want to retire someday? I want to go back to Rio. \\\\

Who knows? Spend a lot of time....nah. I'm a guy. I have lots of thoughts, I try to think things through, come up with an opinion or course of action and move on.

Yes, probably the one thing that I have spent the most time thinking about lately is the woman that I may spend time with. Who is she? What will she be like? I know that we will get along famously and be quite compatible...but where is she?

Yes, I can have a meaningful conversation that lasts for more than 5 minutes. I even enjoy it. But I don't like this question. I try not to obsess.
On a typical Friday night I am
Home. Occasionally out to a movie, out with friends or neighbors. Help Me! I need a life! Haha!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've gotta exercise more. The arthritis in my knees (see powerlifting above) requires constant exercise. I love to walk, hike, bike...to continue doing so at a reasonable level I need to make time for working out.
You should message me if
You did not list your i-phone as one of the six things you could never do without. You want to know more about me or if you think that we may have that spark...it's gotta be there. You can have lots in common, share lots of interests...but there needs to be that "yeah, I would like to spend more time with this person!" The exclamation point is important here. You also have the time and desire for a full-time relationship.
The two of us