49 Cleveland Heights, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Not single. I consider myself a relationship anarchist, possibly polyamorous, ethically non-monogamous with very low-complexity agreements. I'm involved with someone who lives in another city and we talk about everything. Throwing this in the first paragraph to notify the folks who aren't ok with that.

I moved to Seattle when I was out of work and got a job offer and needed to continue to support my (many) (adopted) kids. I came back to Cleveland when I realized they were, in fact, not following me out there, and the economy had picked up enough here that I could get a new job. I'm going back some day. When the kids are grown at the latest. I was very happy in the Northwest, but yes, when there I regularly talked up the good things about Cleveland.

Someone said I look stern in my photos on here, but I'm not going to bother to wrestle some up which show me as the happy smiling person my friends say I am. (I also had a date tell me they didn't look like me, but I looked at them and thought they did. But geez, I guess they are a little bit old. I still think accurate. I have short hair now, and those jeans are more patched. I'll try to get someone to take new pictures. My selfies are often the stern ones.)

Love to ride a bike. Any kind, anywhere. My user-name on here is kind of a zen/bicycling reference,

I am playful, kinetic, and gregarious.

I am an activist in the "everybody can look however the hell they want" movement. I love people. I love queer people. I love freaky people. I love interesting people. I consider myself freaky, and would like to think I'm interesting.
What I’m doing with my life
Working. Living. Exploring. Supporting people. Riding my bikes. Trying to eat good food and drink good beer more often. Wishing I was practicing banjo more. Dancing most every chance I get.
I’m really good at
throwing together a meal for whoever's around out of whatever's at hand, listening with interest, teaching with patience, dealing with a crisis while externally appearing calm.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I am dancing my ass off. (Well, you know, if it's that kind of party.)

That I am kind of quiet (it's an illusion that will be broken when I get to know you a little better, it's just that I am trying to listen to get to know you, where you are coming from, what you are like, first. Though I'm thinking that may be more true in larger groups. If I'm excited I'll talk.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: Noisy, dance-able, up-beat, grinding, difficult, grating, funky, etc. In various combinations. Punk roots, but appreciation for lots. My favorite live band at the moment is Rubblebucket. They can get a room moving. I am amazed by the variety available on Spotify, so I go on benders. I also enjoy various public radio shows, broadcast and on podcast and Slate podcasts.

Food: Veggie food that isn't fake versions of meat-food. Grains, beans and veggies. Rice. Curries. Ethiopian/Eritrean. Red wines, dark beers and sour ales.

Movies: I prefer something with an edge. Excitement or thought. Though fun can be fun.

Books: I don't even know. I can always go back and re-read Vonnegut, or older science fiction, but I like a wide variety. I go to the library and always come back with something.

Shows: I didn't even have a "shows" section for a long time. I don't watch anything new. I caught up on a bunch of the standard geeky fare eventually. Buffy, Firefly, Dr. Who. (Not actually caught up on the Dr. anymore.)
The six things I could never do without
I like to think that all I would need would be rice, water, and warmth, and I could live forever, but in the interest of playing along, to make me happy in the life I am living:
Warm days (or at least the promise that they will return.)
Physical contact
I spend a lot of time thinking about
what I could do to know more people. How to do well in meeting my obligations.
On a typical Friday night I am
recovering from the week. Cleaning. Cooking. Friday is currently usually spent with my two middle kids, so games, movies, some sort of hanging out. When that wasn't true I liked to try to make Critical Mass and Secret Soul Club on last Fridays.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
The problem is, I am an over-sharer and have low boundaries. So I can't even think of candidates for the answer to this question. Except for things I just wouldn't post. And you could probably ask me about those things the first day we met and I would answer.
You should message me if
you think you would like me to message you. I reject gender standards, and, among other things, I like women who make the first move.

Also if you like riding bikes, music, art, beverages, dancing, activity, whatever. Getting out and doing things. You aren't looking for the one to complete your life, but just want to enjoy life a bit more, and with company.