55Silver Spring, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Divorced father of two lovely girls (both young adults). Generally happy, playful, and always an optimist and a good and loyal friend. Born in Lima, Peru (right by the Pacific Ocean, which I miss greatly), came to the US to study many years ago and never went back. When not running or biking, I work as an economist at an international agency in DC. Enjoy good conversations, a nice walk anywhere, and fixing the world's problems over a cold beer. Lived with cats and dogs most of my life (I will admit openly to liking wimpy Standard Poodles and crazy Airedale Terriers) but can't have pets in my current apt. Get along very well with pets though.

Looking for a fun, engaging and intellectually challenging lady, aware of what goes on in the world. I am more interested in who she is than in what she does, but it would be nice if we both liked some activities (short of jumping off airplines, I'd be happy to try new ones). Solid morals and ability to roll with the punches essential. Everything else is negotiable.
What I’m doing with my life
Working hard and playing harder! Looking for fun and happiness (aren't we all?) surrounded by family and friends. Almost there but not quite. Luckily, I am financially stable, have a great and challenging job, and a small but solid group of friends.
I’m really good at
Listening to people, making them laugh, being a good father, loyal friend, and protecting loved ones. Also good at laughing at my own jokes (no kidding), solving Sudokus at ridiculous speeds, reading the footnotes of journal articles, and not been discouraged by all those unanswered OKC messages.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I am tall for a 5'6 guy. Others tell me it is my "immaturity", but I disagree. I'm "youthful".
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: Eyes Wide Shut, The Usual Suspects, The Bourne Series, Saving Private Ryan, The Sting, Papillon, and the best of them all: Blazing Saddles!
Don't watch much TV but enjoy watching "Sherlock" on Netflix.
Books: Obsesion (by Peruvian writer and good friend A. Gadea), Love in Times of Cholera, Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter, Odessa, poems by Mario Benedetti and Cesar Vallejo.
Music: big fan of progressive rock (Yes, EL&P, Jethro Tull, Pink Floyd) but also of the classic rock bands like Zeppelin and the Stones. Huge Beatles fan (own the entire catalog and know all the songs sang by Ringo). Like DMB, Sugar Ray and think that John Mayer is a genius. For some strange reason also like country music (love Dixie Chicks, Lady Antebellum).
Six things I could never do without
My 2 beautiful daughters, my running shoes, my road bike, my iPad, a cold beer, and a good cebiche. Yes, cebiche, not ceviche.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How do I collect my Bonus Points.
How to invest the proceeds of my winning lottery ticket to minimize taxes (will check with Mitt Romney).
After a very large number of unanswered OKC messages I am wondering what is worse: my profile, my pictures, or my judgment...
On a typical Friday night I am
All over the place. No two Fridays are the same (home, abroad, fun, family, work, Netflix, etc.).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I really am a great catch!
You should message me if
If you want to meet someone who is likely to become a good, supportive, and loyal friend, and is prepared to invest in a fun, positive, challenging, and mutually rewarding relationship if the conditions are there. How's that for a long-winded sentence?

If you are OK with the fact that I have a good relationship with my ex (critically important for me, as we share custody of our youngest daughter).

If you have kids: if you value a partner's experience as a parent. I am a good one.
The two of us