40Maldon, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
During cooler times I do quite a lot of running and cycling at a reasonable level - have joined up with the local club from time to time. In the summer I venture out onto water - I sail fairly often. Although I wouldn't call it sport, I'm also learning to sail a Thames Sailing Barge (although there is a hierarchy within the crew and I am currently 3rd hand - i.e. not very respected!).

I like to take walking and mountain biking trips away to Snowdonia, Lake District - especially on the bank holidays when all my friends are around - even better. I've been up to Snowdonia many times and know the area fairly well.

When I'm at home I generally read newspapers and read books. I do also play the piano - have done since a teenager but don't have room in my current house so learning is on hold. Would dearly love to fix that but I also don't like to live in a cramp state. I really enjoy seeing other people play the piano and enjoy going to local concerts. Okay, digression over.

I am warm, inquisitive, and adventurous
What I’m doing with my life
Learning new things constantly. Trying out new ways but still doing the same thing that I've done for the last ten years.

I like to try new sports. A couple of years ago I completed my Day Skipper whilst I was working with a client on the East coast. This year (time permitting) I want to learn to sail Thames Sailing barges (well actually it'll probably take longer to learn due to the limited opportunity to build up hours). I also occasionally take a tiny boat out just to keep it ticking over.

Hopefully I'll find time to travel this year as it's something that suffered last year. I've still yet to visit South America and India. I love the perspective than you gain when travelling and how differently you look at things when you return.

The big time black hole in my life is my company that I run. I am a freelancer and I have tended to move around a lot chasing the projects.
I’m really good at
being patient with people, listening to them and understanding. I'm quite laid back most of the time and am quite easy to get on with.

I like to think I'm good at my job too - seem to be fairly successful so far.

Making bread! Seriously, I love making bread and do it nearly every week. It's something I grew up with and have continued to do.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Okay this is embarrassing but what the hell. It's the first time I've ever used a dating website.

My favourite book is Watership Down. I read it ages ago but love it. Other favourite books - the start of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, East of Eden, anything by Frederick Forsyth. I used to read endlessly on family holidays but the reading I seem to find time to do these days is usually work related trying fill the gaps in my professional knowledge.

Music wise - I go for rock songs usually. So Counting Crows, REM, Wallflowers. But also like the occasional Type O when I have a good HiFi system to hand. Similarly I listen to classic music (mainly piano sonatas - Chopin, Beethoven, Haydn, Satie).

My favourite food is probably Italian because it's simple to make! So this is what I end up making at home. Pizza parties where you make up a load of bases and then get everyone involved in preparing and arranging the toppings are a great way to spend a relaxing evening with friends. .... But I do like French food when I really want to indulge myself. The Ladure shop in London is heaven!

Film wise, not really that into films but would probably say Blade Runner, Spirited Away, Deer Hunter, Saw (didn't like any of the sequels), Fight Club and Memento. Films with a twist - so Usual Suspects also. On TV I got really into the Damages series with Glen Close. I was truely shocked by the dog scene at the start - 'thought "what a bitch" - and was hooked. TV that makes me laugh would be something like Dennis Pennis - spontaneous witty crazy stuff. Hmmm am I making this distinctly clear.
Six things I could never do without
First things first. I've lost my phone several times. I'm alive. I survived. Thus I can do without it so it is not listed here!
Friends - the older I get the more I realise how important this one is.
Family - likewise.
My bike.
Food - having worked in a kitchen for a year once I enjoy cooking and trying out new things.
Fresh air - love the outdoors, I grew up in the countryside and hope to one day move back.
Shoe polish - I love the smell. What can I say?
On a typical Friday night I am
I don't have a typical Friday night. I could be on a long drive somewhere, out with friends or housemates at the local, in a foreign country or back home visiting my parents.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I see ghosts!
You should message me if
you want to get to know me better and there's something in my profile that you like. Don't bother doing the profile questions - they're just for procrastination.
The two of us