76Hacienda Carmel, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am bi-cultural as I was born in France some 70 years ago and became a (legal) immigrant in my twenties. I have been retired for the past 9 years and have the time and freedom to dwell into just about anything striking my fancy. Intellectual activity occupies a large place in my life; I spend a great deal of time reading about a variety of topics and issues and pondering about many of the serious problems we must confront as a society as well as our legacy to the next generation.

I am what you might call a free thinker and an atheist who, at this stage of my life has come to think of religion in general as a plague to the human family, the world over.

While not particularly interested in sports, I have found that sailing is a very stimulating and multi-facetted activity that I’ve come to greatly enjoy.

In general, I tend to spend much more time alone than in the company of others. At the same time, being happily married, I love sharing time with my wife of 40+ years. I do enjoy debating ideas and exchanging them with thoughtful people, particularly in writing.

I am trustworthy, creative, and rational
What I’m doing with my life
A couple of years ago I decided to purchase a 30 year old 38 foot sailboat and to undertake a substantial effort to adapt it better to my cruising needs. This task seems to have been grossly underestimated and in spite of the large amount of time invested, my progress toward completion are rather modest. However, there is a lot of fun to be had as the tasks are both quite varied and often very challenging. This effort is taking place in Turkey (where the boat was acquired) and since for the most part trades people in that area are not conversant in English and I do not speak Turkish, this adds more than a little to the challenge.

When at home near Monterey (CA) where I spend about 6 months each year, it is a fine time to recharge my batteries and to step back in this environment where verbal communication and life in general is so easy. This is my chance to catch up on about 6 month worth of (mostly technical) papers and magazines and to keep the place in good working order.

Whether at home or on the boat, thanks to the Web, access to news and contact with family and friends is easily maintained.
I’m really good at
- organizing (but not so well that I can easily retrieve everything)
- listening to new ideas and debating them
- using my hands to make and repair things
- designing new and useful mechanical and electrical contraptions
- making decisions quickly and modifying them later if and when desirable
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably my French accent. If not that, it might be my thinning hair...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books – primarily dealing with technical/engineering issues, technical texbooks- occasionally reading non-fiction such as biographies of historical figures, inventors, the theory of evolution and related topics, travel reports

Movies – drama and adventure (The Hunt for Red October, 12 Angry Men, The Scent of a Woman, Indecent Proposal, A man for all Seasons, Absence of Malice, Top Gun, Men of Honor, Pretty Woman, Guess Who is Coming to Dinner, The Verdict)

Music - mostly classical, music from the Andes and Celtic music (i.e. Enya)

Food - French, Chinese, Mediterranean (equal preference)
Six things I could never do without
Other than the basic necessities to sustain life, it would not be much of a life without
1. love (giving and receiving),
2. intellectual stimulation (news, books, magazines, movies)
3. creating (designing new things, problem solving in general)
4. challenges (overcoming adversity)
5. adventure (seeing new places, visiting other cultures)
6. doing something for others (sharing, helping)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The challenges confronting our new administration both on the domestic front and abroad. The seemingly intractable issues involving the Middle East, the tyrannical regimes in Iran, Myamar, North Korea, Sudan, and elsewhere. The pernicious role of religion on this planet and means to neutralize its influence. Activities required to reverse the erosion of the wall separating church from state. The need to shield our elected representatives from the corrupting necessity of seeking funding by special interest groups and to have to spend so much of their time doing it instead of legislating.

Possible improvement and enhancements of various sailboat subsystems. And also about making the most of the remaining years of my life. Oh, and to be honest, I should also say that sex is still very much on my mind.
On a typical Friday night I am
If at home, I’m likely watching Newshour (KQED) and reading either a book or a magazine unless I am spending time on the Web. Later, I might be catching a movie before turning in.

If on the sailboat, currently in Turkey, I am likely to be either fixing something, planning to fix something or designing some kind of enhancement. On occasion, I would be found in the company of other ex-pat sailors at a nearby watering hole trading tips and stories.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I sometime come across as somewhat weird as I am not much of a crowd follower and tend to seek my own answers.
You should message me if
You don't have too many friends, enjoy writing to exchange ideas, insights, and discuss your views on any topic of your choosing with a reasonably well read and broadminded pal.
The two of us