59Hillsborough, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Looking for soul mate. I am an intelligent, independent, warm, loving, caring, creative, energetic and mature woman, with a good balance of work and play in my life.

I can be smart and I can be silly. I love to laugh and do so on my own, quite often.

I have few regrets and have a positive, upbeat attitude.

I am very health conscious and in very good shape.

I like to play hard and work hard and know how to do both quite well.

I am a "responsible hedonist." (I may have invented that phrase).

I am a well-educated professional in the environmental field. I studied science, engineering, and philosophy. I have a 23-yr old daughter who is a recent college grad. I have lived in the RTP area over 30 years. I was born and raised (till 22) in the Northeast. Love the south, especially the weather, but also the down-home feeling. I had intended to relocate to California after leaving NE but never made it. Many say I'm a Californian at heart (and also time-wise). Love to visit. Guess there is still time to relocate. 😀
What I’m doing with my life
I have a good job that brings together many of my skills and interests, and is a culmination of my education and job experiences. A job that has great societal value. I give it the time required to earn my keep but look forward to having life outside of work.

I have a recent college grad daughter. I also have pets (cats, hedgehog); have had dog, guinea pigs, fish, bird; would like another dog some day.

I have a nice circle of friends that Ive accumulated here in NC after over 30 years as a resident. I enjoy going to the many cultural, community, social, educational and sports activities the triangle has to offer.

I like walking, biking, movies, healthy food, eating out, live music, art, parties big and small. Wish lawn parties would come back.

Supporting local and national liberal politics, mostly from my arm chair.

I am usually involved in one regular volunteer effort outside of my job.
I’m really good at
Identifying solutions to problems.
Most academic subjects (and tests), including math and chemistry (which everyone hates); also languages, philosophy, writing.
Organizing people, things, and activities.
Taking care of people and animals (Im a nurturer).
Understanding people's (and animal's) needs (see above).
Playing it by ear.
Making quick decisions, responding to emergencies.
Travelling, especially to new places.
Reading a map.
Figuring out how to have a good time.
Having/organizing parties.
Jump rope.
The first things people usually notice about me
My red hair then my smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Non fiction essays such as Gladwell's and Efron's.
Biographies of interesting people.
Lotsa movies.
Sushi and Asian fusion. Brie. Champagne.
Blues, jazz, rock, classical, new age.
Six things I could never do without
Six! How generous.

My daughter
Internet connection

*However, every so often I go dry for days or weeks.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to have fun. How to do my job better. How to make life/the world a better place.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out with friends, roaming around by myself at some art/music event, or regrouping at home with a glass of wine and good DVD/Hulu after a busy week and to-be-busy weekend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Im mostly an atheist but have strong ethical code similar to christian with alot of buddist overtones.
You should message me if
(and only if) You are a LIBERAL. At or over 5'10". Like independent and intelligent women. Are kind, gentle, and affectionate. Have had alot of luck in life and/or have few regrets. Are mostly happy, in good shape and not overweight. Are well educated (self or otherwise). Note: My profile is up-to-date 2017.
The two of us