46 Philadelphia, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Quaker, children's librarian, daughter, little sister, aunt, poet, fanfiction author, singer, cat-lover. Spent five years of childhood in the South Pacific. I love the opportunity to speak or write in Spanish. In recent years, I've become a fan of various anime, manga, and manhwa; I'm currently working on learning Japanese.

Overarching Goals: to live in a simpler/more earth-friendly/more peacemaking way; to savor life while it is given to me. To go deeper and live broader.

Short-Term Objectives: to seek out/make opportunities to sing and dance; to become a better friend; to connect more deeply with the people I meet.
What I’m doing with my life
Alternately enjoying or grousing about library work; learning how to make my house my home; finding ways to live more into my beliefs.
I’m really good at
Reading picture books aloud, finding the right spot to scratch on a cat's chin, learning languages, finding cool juxtapositions in the cityscape around me.
The first things people usually notice about me
Doesn't that depend on the person noticing? I haven't gone quizzing folks for their first impressions of me...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
So many! Children's/young adult books ranging from Lloyd Alexander's Prydain and Westmark series to the manga titles Natsume's Book of Friends and Mushishi to Code Name Verity and Dairy Queen...a varied collection of movies and shows, but especially ones that feature often-unheard voices and characters; women singers with deep rough voices, 1980s pop, anime soundtracks. And food! So long as it's not meat and not too spicy for a rather sensitive tongue, I'll explore the gamut of cuisine.
The six things I could never do without
*Connecting with other humans
*Some degree of solitude
*Food, shelter, water
*Independence--being recognized as an autonomous adult
*Access to kitties!
*Ways to express myself--music, song, dance, writing...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
both the mistakes I've made and the good times I've had.
On a typical Friday night I am
Reading manga on my computer; or hanging out with family; or out with a friend; or grocery shopping; or at my therapy appointment. :-)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I admit nothing!

Okay, I admit that depression has been and is a part of my life--sometimes it settles down in the middle of the room, a fuzzy gray presence that sheds its fur everywhere, starts eating my cheese curls and plays music I don't like. Learning to navigate around it is an ongoing process for me.

I find it interesting that in some situations in my life, it's higher-stakes to reveal my struggles with depression, while in others it would be my bisexuality; in others, being a fanfiction author; still others, not identifying as explicitly Christian. To you, OkCupid, I unveil all of the above!
You should message me if
*You have read all my wordy self-description and spot some common ground.
*You are either in Philadelphia or willing to come into town occasionally (I'm car-free and busy enough that I rarely cross the city limits).
*You've set up your OKCupid profile thoroughly enough that I, in turn, can visit it and get to know you better.
*You pay attention to the OKCupid friend/enemy percentages (I'm unlikely to respond to messages from folks whose friend percentage is under ~70% or enemy percentage is over ~30%).
*Both seriousness and play are important parts of your life.
*You aren't put off by lack of dating experience in your partner.
*Conversation is as much a part of your idea of a good time as canoodling.