37Denver, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary

- I am the product of a nurse so Irish she still has the accent and a photographer so Texan he'll never lose the accent. I love them, love my brothers, love my dog, love my friends.

- I moved to Denver 7 years ago to play in the sun & mountains as much as possible, while still maintaining gainful employment.

- I used to be a world-traveling consultant and still mourn losing my frequent flyer statuses.

- I'm very open-minded, laid back, non-judgmental, adaptable and independent.

- Both friends and strangers confide in me. A lot.

- I'm a total skeptic and embrace alternative viewpoints.

- I hike, ski (not very well), backpack, mountain bike, snowshoe, camp.

- I'm game for trying anything active with an -ing attached: kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, rock-climbing, hang-gliding, road-biking, high-lining, snowboarding... Introduce me to something new!

- I have found that I don't realize I'm afraid of something until after I've done it.

- When communicating with someone who has a point (rather than a fun story) I prefer the other person to state the point up front and then provide supporting details.

- I care a whole, whole lot about my food, where it comes from and how it was raised. The friends I find myself boasting about the most run a disabled-veteran-owned sustainable organic farm in Western NY and I think they totally kick ass.

- I debated putting periods on the ends of my bullet points above. Did I do it right?

- I really love bullet points.
What I’m doing with my life
As far as how I pay my bills - I woke up one day, a little over 4 years ago, realized that I hated what I was doing for a living, and made a big change. I recently started my journey into self-employment and as I am in the start-up stage my free time and income are severely limited. If things work out as planned, though, I will have that which I crave the most - the freedom to do what I want, when I want, how I want, where I want. I've gotten to that stage where I'm confident in myself and my abilities and it's time to cash in on that confidence.

For non-work ventures I'm coming off of a couple-year period where I let regular physical activity slide a bit, due to illness and injury. I'm hoping to avoid the injuries and am working on regaining my physical fitness. I like to fling kettlebells around, try my hand at inversion poses in yoga, and run with my dog. Actually, "running" is an overstatement, it's more like a fast march. On weekends I love to play in the mountains (see above). I also feel most fantastic on a paleo/primal way of eating.
I’m really good at
Rooting for the underdog.
Cooking up deliciousness.
Questioning convention and conventional wisdom.
The first things people usually notice about me
I generally get people's attention with a sarcastic joke or tension-cutting quip.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books - partial to more modern fiction.

Movies - I have nothing against movies, I just don't find myself getting excited about going to see them. If anything, my Netflix history is mostly documentaries.

Shows - I've been without cable for a few years until just recently. And there's STILL not much worth watching in my opinion. I have totally gotten into Game of Thrones and Orange is the New Black, though.

Music - I go see a lot of live music. The audience for the shows I go to tends to feature a lot of male facial hair. I dig it.

Food - I'm a seriously good home cook, and I prefer to follow a more primal/paleo way of eating. You should know this bleeds into much of my lifestyle.
Six things I could never do without
Honestly, so long as I have my dog with me, and my friends and family are ok, LET IT ALL JUST BURN TO THE GROUND! I am no ascetic (and I have a ton of outdoor gear to prove it) but I'm not attached to "things". Or "stuff." I don't do "collections." And man, I hate clutter.

But six things I really LIKE are:
1. Red wine
2. Rainbows/Thunderstorms/Snow/Mountains/Valleys/Water. Basically all of nature.
3. National Geographic magazine
4. My passport
5. My dog
6. Bullet points
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Food and food politics. Sustainability. Work (just being honest).
On a typical Friday night I am
Depends on the season and what my Saturday morning plans are :).
In the spring/summer/fall I prefer to be up in the mountains sitting around a campfire drinking wine from a box and chatting with friends. Winter is more likely to see me hosting friends at home, making them try my latest culinary creation, and drinking wine although in this scenario *probably* from a bottle.

I also enjoy a good dive bar and go see quite a lot of live music. And every once in a while I'll pull out the Texas-gal and put on some sequins and heels.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
The only food substance on this planet I will not put in my mouth is Mayonnaise. Hate the stuff. Also, I don't *get* Apples-to-Apples.
The two of us