62Ottawa, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am looking for a somewhat regular activity partner, for badminton, swing dance, swimming, hiking, .... If you'd like to meet, be bold enough to say so, or an opportunity may be lost... (I don't do A-list)

Geek, creative, spontaneous, a dancer, a thinker at home in science, art and politics, but also playful and silly. I like to say that i can't learn as much from someone who always agrees with me. Minds are sexier than bodies if you ask me: afterwards, maybe something else might happen.

Friends for me are more like family: the familiarity of lasting relationships makes each encounter increasingly beautiful, developing a shared "language", elevating the everyday to a form of lived-in art. I am wholeheartedly committed to those close to me and appreciate commitment in return: it takes a while to even begin to know someone else, to surrender the self and really listen, to see the patterns which underlie someone else's perspective, to learn...

If minds are going to meet, they need to handle each other with a degree of deference, patience and gentleness. Innocence is important to me, not in the traditional biblical sense, but in the joyful appreciation of life with the expectation of good. I love the innocence of children, but even more so, that of an adult who has had to defend or regain it, thus truly, consciously treasuring it.
What I’m doing with my life
At work, I fix things and design new electronics and controlling software, upgrading a linear accelerator. My academic background is in Physics, Math, Art History and Photography, and my curiosity ranges from there to metaphysics. Consciousness is the most meaningful and elusive thing there is - amazing such a delicate thing can coexist in the universe with fundamental particles and supernovas.

I was a serious kid who preferred encyclopedias and newspapers. In the words of Bob Dylan: "Ah, but I was so much older then/I'm younger than that now". The youngest of my kids has left to university.

I enjoy travel, especially to western Europe (train & bicycle), but balk at the cost and already have a lot of fun where I am. I would rather stay in a youth hostel than a hotel, even if someone else would be paying the bill...
I’m really good at
Dancing, free form dance especially. Using tools. Make pretty damn good curry from whatever is on hand at the moment. Assembler code and electronics in general. Not bad at photography. Have become rather fond of LARP (Live Action Role Play) improvisations and enjoy attending board game nights, but too busy for elaborate or online gaming.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I am wearing a skirt. And a rather large beard. Sometimes a pretty dress. And that I'm smiling. Often dancing. Giggling also predominates. Or thinking about art or politics or science or on facebook – look for "iamsaskia" and let's connect there.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I have about 600 CDs: Kate Bush, jazz, classical, the Doors, early music with lute and viola da gamba.... My favourite classical music is Dies Natalis by Gerald Finzi which talks of the wonder of a child being born and seeing the world for the first time.

Dr. Seuss books; sci-fi fantasy books, especially by Ursula LeGuin; The Lord of the Rings; poetry of e.e.cummings; Books about the Jewish origins of early Christianity: In Search of Paul: How Jesus' Apostle Opposed Rome's Empire with God's Kingdom by John Dominic Crossan, Jonathan L. Reed, and The Authentic Gospel of Jesus by Geza Vermes

Most Hayao Miyazaki films (Spirited Away is a masterpiece); The Princess Bride; The Life of Brian (Monty Python); Koyaanisqatsi; foreign films; Game of Thrones, both the show and the books; The Third Man (black & white film noir), foreign films;
5000 Fingers of Dr. T - live action musical Dr. Seuss movie, pretty much my favorite movie.

Don't watch TV, but love CBC radio, ballet and modern dance. Bicycling, swimming, board games, LARPs, badminton, singing. I like doing in preference to watching.

Someone who could teach me more vegetarian cooking would be particularly welcome. I buy curry powder in one pound cans, enjoy a wide variety of ethnic food, but if you are into "wine & dine", I will be a big disappointment.

Most of my role models in life have been women for no particular reason other than that they inspired me. I am gentle to animals and grammar, but I do not find them interesting companions.
Six things I could never do without
1. Reason (as in, the ability to think rationally and logically)
2. Gentle playfulness
3. Amy rhandrumm (links to her profile): my partner who suggested I put a profile here, and Nicole (best friend, but now moved to Toronto)
4. Dancing
5. Hanging out with children
6. Art
7. You?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Friends, circuit diagrams and finances; social justice; politics (left-of-centre & practical) and geography (which has included topics as diverse as small island economies and the Albanian government) and science; how other people see things, their points of view. How children perceive the world and how that grows.

There is a philosophical question about good and evil that is relevant: Does good stand by itself, or is duality a prerequisite to define it? Do we need to see bad art to appreciate good art? Do we need to experience hate to appreciate love?

And I think the answer is "Not necessarily". In other words, maybe, but it depends on how we approach life. I try to appreciate things in the absence of their opposite.

Good & interesting? certainly often not synonymous. Danger may be exciting, but a finer tuned palate need not have such extreme stimuli to be satisfied; after all, creativity matters, and if we are consumers only then we get diminished returns due to the lack of personal investment. Is entertainment a drug or are we pushing mental boundaries?
On a typical Friday night I am
Swing dancing! Basement of St. Josephs at Cumberland and Laurier in Ottawa. While the dancing starts at 9:30pm after a 1 hour lesson, I usually show up closer to 11pm, and stay for cleanup afterwards.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
What is there that I wouldn't admit to (assuming its true)? I'm not used to being very secretive about myself.

An interview with me included here
You should message me if
Even if you'd like to be friends "without benefits". That's fine with me.

If you'd like to hang out and share ideas & experiences! If you want to dance! If there's a mildly subversive project we might like to collaborate on!

If you are a single mom with one or maybe two young ones: I miss having children in the household.

If you are interested in sharing a house with a couple (myself, and my artistic narcolpetic partner). We could share expenses, and together accomplish more than we might separately.

If you like to be spontaneous and playful, and can partner reliably on responsibilities that matter for the long term. I am much attracted by joyful innocence, by serious adults who have preserved or re-discovered the curious and playful child within.

If you'd like to share electrons.

While stumbling towards the immortal, I have adapted to the fact that life is unpredictably unpredictable by embracing the spontaneous: you are welcome to invite me 5 minutes before something is going to happen, or to come on an outing to wherever we end up at.
The two of us