36 New Bedford, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
+++Available - male human, approximately 35 years of age. Some light weather damage. Still in original packaging. +++

Teacher. Bad joke-teller (in that I like to tell bad jokes, especially puns). Wannabe therapist. Bleeding heart. Some-time ball of anxiety. Some-time mellow dude. Vinyl junkie. Friend to children. Classroom nuisance. Family black sheep. TV-watcher. Cooker and eater of Thai food. Some-time spoiler of movies, though never intentionally! Night owl. Some-time over-sensitive. Some-time recipient of world's tiniest violin accompaniment. Lover of animals. Sweetheart. Lover of country roads and novice-level hikes.
What I’m doing with my life
I work full-time as a special education teacher at a high school on the South Coast. Basically I teach or co-teach English classes with large special ed populations and work with special ed students to try to help them get all the services that they need. It's a great job and the first one I've ever had as full-fledged teacher teacher!
I’m really good at
I think I'm fairly good at making people laugh and putting them at ease/getting them to talk. People tend to tell me I seem very laid back. I'm pretty into Thai cooking and I think I make a pretty good green curry and a decent tom yum goong soup. More recently I think I've been getting better at exerting pressure on students that they need to consider "buying in" to idea that success in school is in their best interests.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably that I smile a lot and know a lot of random facts. Also that I have advanced facial hair-growing abilities.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
These change all the time, but perennial favorites include anything by Peter Carey, Jonathan Lethem and China Mieville. Recently I've been reading more sci-fi and fantasy – it can't always be "fine" literature... Also, I read a fair amount of comic books and graphic novels – especially anything written by Grant Morrison. Moviewise it's really hard for me to pick all-time favorites, but over the past few years I really liked Hanna, Django Unchained, Moonrise Kingdom, The Master, End of the World and Dark Horse. I also really like Anchor Man, Talladega Night, Step Brothers, etc. and superhero movies. My taste in music is pretty eclectic. Recently I've been listening a lot to indie garage rock acts like Ty Segall and Mikal Cronin, but I'll always have a soft spot for my two favorite "arty" bands, Okkervil River and Sunset Rubdown and have an abiding interest in 70s British folk. I love Korean, Thai and soul food, but really just like food in general.
The six things I could never do without
My friends. My family. Time to decompress after work. Barbecues in friends' backyards. Good books, movies and music. Human kindness in some form.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The future. Planning trips to visit old friends. Considering ways to beautify my apartment.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually at home recuperating from the past week!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
For a while now I've had to ignore friend requests from my students on Facebook.
You should message me if
You think we'd get along or are curious enough to try to find out.