57Durham, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’m a native of North Carolina. I’m an open minded liberal southerner. In case you didn’t know it, we do exist.

I stay fit and active. I like good beer, volleyball, wood working, boats, sailing, biking, hiking, camping, and generally being outdoors. I used to run a lot. Lately I’m trying to make running part of my life again, but it’s a slow process fraught with silly little injuries. I’ve done some bicycle touring, to several locations in NC and three months crossing Australia. It’s a wonderful way to travel. My cat really likes it when I manage to get up early in the morning and lift weights in the basement.

I am somewhat passionate about boatbuilding and taijiquan. Don't get me started about either one unless you are prepared to stop me.

I want to meet people and get to know them. I think the best way to get to know someone is to spend time with them, talk to them, experience their actions and reactions. Profiles and surveys are nice, but no substitute for real world interaction. I’m open to all sorts of friendships and activities like movies, hiking, conversation over beers (out at a pub, on the deck, out by the lake, at home, in the hot tub), getting sweaty outdoors, getting sweaty indoors :-)

I have a wonderful, committed, open relationship with spicyvi and she actively encourages me to seek out fun activities with other people. She’s a bit of an activist for open relationships so you’re welcome to contact her if you like.

I'm on a mission to actively avoid misleading people in my life. I’m finding it slightly more difficult than I first thought. I try to say what I mean and mean what I say. If something doesn’t make sense, ask me and I’ll try to clarify.
What I’m doing with my life
Work, my house, yard, and boat provide me with plenty to keep me busy in life. I also study taijiquan.

It would be nice to add a couple of new friends and see what sorts of activities we can do together.
I’m really good at
Seeing both sides of a situation. Staying calm. Drinking Guinness. Listening. Accepting myself for who I am. Accepting you for who you are.

I’m told I’m good with my hands and at some other things that I’ll be happy to show you later.
The first things people usually notice about me
People don’t generally tell me what they first notice about me. I’m a jeans and t-shirt kind of guy. I’m typically quiet and hard to rattle.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books... I don't read much these days... when I do, it's about building boats. Used to be science fiction. :-)

movies... I like guy movies. I’m a guy, what did you expect?

music... classic rock, traditional Irish stuff, bagpipes.

food... meat and potatoes, simple food.
Six things I could never do without
i think I could do without just about anything.

Some things I’d rather not do without are: Companionship, good beer, a paycheck.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to fix the next thing on my boat. And then how to find time to do that.

I think about whether or not there is a way to make my work environment more enjoyable.

I think about taijiquan and how it applies to everyday things in life.

I wonder what my cats might be thinking.
On a typical Friday night I am
Chilling at home or out with friends. Something comfortable and casual.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I dress to the left.

My partner gave me advice about how to write this profile.

There are lots of more private things about me, but I'm not willing to admit them *on the internet*. I'll probably admit them in person. Ideally, those sorts of things we can discover about each other in person.
You should message me if
You have the slightest inclination. I love getting messages.
The two of us