61San Jose, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi, thanks for stopping by. A multi-generational San Francisco native, moved to the south bay when it was referred to as The Valley of Hearts Delight, and it was!

I'm now single after a long term marriage and a few year monogamous relationship. Life is wonderful, my 2 kids are in their mid-20's and it's my time to shine! Most friends consider me to be a great guy, sometimes quirky, funny, demonstrative, progressive, generous and possessing a strong joie de vivre. After putting it off forever, I returned to college in my late 40's, got a bachelors degree, and a few years ago, I nailed my masters. What a thrilling ride and exceptional educational experience!

While I make friends easily and generally know within minutes if we'll click, most either totally get me or some have no idea what planet I'm from, which is just fine and exactly how I run. I don't follow the herd and often do the opposite of what other's expect.

I have friends of a wide span of age groups and spend a lot of quality time with my daughter.

I've traveled around the world and travel often for both pleasure and business. After six weeks, I have a difficult time being fully grounded and need some form of travel to take me away from responsibilities and reality.
What I’m doing with my life
Reconsidering everything and trying to map out the next chapters. While I have a strong heart for San Jose and I adore the Bay Area in general, I've had the great opportunity to travel extensively. I adore Europe, it's culture, the uniqueness of it's inhabitants, the artifacts, it's art, the food scene and the utter joy of being in Europe. In 2013 I did London, Spain and Morocco. 2014 were visits to Israel, Jordan and Turkey. I'll end the year doing karaoke in Tokyo!

So until I feel I can make the decision to live in London or somewhere in Europe, I work hard at my job, I live a respectable life, I help my kids, pay my taxes and consume knowledge for travel ideas, spiritual growth, expand friendships and try not to stress to much about the state of the world.

I do spend a fair amount of time going to live concerts of many genres, but I'm a rock and roller deep down and find myself at both local and distant venues often.
I’m really good at
Brainstorming, planning and executing. Thinking out of the box without breaking too many physical or perceived barriers. While I can have a photographic memory, I can also just not immediately grasp someone's name. I enjoy teaching but not academically and sharing my journey's trials and tribulations as a learning and growing experience. I love to write and some have suggested I should go into radio or do voice-overs.
The first things people usually notice about me
My exuberance, my sometimes goofiness and my willingness to approach virtually anyone and start a conversation. But when professionalism is required, I'll adjust my tie and be the quiet, conservative businessperson. I often don't act my age and strive hard to maintain this persona.

Whomever I am at the time, I always strive to be a gentleman unless the situation warrants otherwise.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Any book by Daniel Goleman, spiritual growth, Buddhism and modern literature. I thoroughly loved the "50 Shades" trilogy and enjoy reading erotic non-fiction, which piques my brain and takes my fantasies up a few notches. I consume travel books for planning my next trip, read every AFAR magazine, Dwell for my next home idea, Bon Appetit for it's luscious food and Rolling Stone to keep abreast of what's happening musically.

I love to cook and friends have suggested I'm a gourmet. I enjoy eating out often and try to avoid chains, yet I do have a thing for Ruth's Chris.

The backbone of my life is music of any genre, but particularly progressive and classic rock. I can be found at Davies, The Fillmore, Fox, Mt Winery, Stern Grove or any venue presenting what turns me on. I favor small venues such as the Great American Music Hall, a dive bar; anywhere with live music. I unwillingly and begrudgingly attend shows at arenas. I've been known to follow bands across the country!
Six things I could never do without
My son and daughter, friends, music, passport, my brain, optimism...and the opportunity to get as little sleep as possible.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The immense universe and the miracle of our existence.

What I hope to achieve in life.

Emotional intelligence and Maslow's theory of hierarchy.

What road should I take, how can I pull it off, will I be happy, will it work, what are the risks, if not now, when?

Finding the love of my life, what will she look like, what will her personality be, will we mesh and adore each other and our extended families, will my kids adore her and will her's adore and appreciate me and mine?
On a typical Friday night I am
Casually out with friends, doing some necessary shopping, packing for a getaway weekend, resting up for a busy weekend, doing absolutely nothing, cooking dinner while listening to music and drinking good red wine, planning my next adventure. I enjoy downtime after a busy week, but Saturday night, look out as this is the blow out night of the week.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
You have no idea the wonderful and sometimes nasty thoughts stored deep in my brain. Perhaps, we'll have the opportunity to mine and explore these together!
You should message me if
you've read my profile, I haven't scared you away and feel intrigued about delving into my personality and thought processes.

I would hope a lady who enjoys the company of a gentleman, while being with a guy who can also act less than half his age, is acceptable.

My accomplice should wonder who is this dude on the other side of this virtual space, a woman whom possesses her own joie de vivre and thinks out-of-the-box about the next chapters in her life and what possibilities for experience, travel, pleasure and joy truly have to offer.

I don't get why women seeking relationships with men choose to post prominent pictures of their dogs. You and your dog is great. Just your dog? I'm not looking for a relationship with canines, I'm looking for female-humans!

Please, first and foremost, be an optimist.
The two of us