33San Diego, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My name is Nate, and I'm an Ohio guy that got sick of the cold and came to San Diego in 2007 for law school. I love this City and all out has to offer. My favorite places include Ocean Beach, Balboa Park, and Anza Borrego. Although I can be a very analytical person, I have been told that I am funny, and I have a significant sarcastic streak. I don't believe in religion, but I have what some people might call a spiritual side about nature.

In addition to law (more about that below), I enjoy learning and reading about the sciences--including a love of science fiction--politics, and a lot of other things! Proud nerd since 1984 :). I'm a vegetarian and have been since 2009. I prefer living my life around and with other people, and I believe that experiences often (though not always) are better shared with someone close.

My friends would describe me as funny, intelligent, sensitive, and sweet. At heart, I'm a romantic. I crave intimacy, and I'm affectionate. I will do almost anything for my friends, family, and loved ones. Although I am very opinionated and independent, I deeply enjoy company. I can easily hold an intelligent conversation and am very open about my own life and experiences. Generally speaking, I am open minded, but I am pretty damn close to being a socialist and essentially cannot converse with most conservatives. So, if you watch Glenn Beck or listen to Rush and think, "That makes sense," I imagine we won't get along too well. I might also sort of believe that organized religion is the root of all evil... So there's that too.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm an attorney, and I really enjoy my work. I have my own practice, and I work primarily in business formation and advising, civil rights law, and criminal defense. I do some other miscellaneous stuff too. My core focus is on the marijuana industry in California and across the nation, helping people stay out of trouble and ultimately helping them when trouble comes knocking. I love what I do, and it's exciting to be on the cutting edge of a social movement!

I do not work to live, but I also do not live to work. I am somewhere in between: my work is very important to me and defines a large part of who I am. I count myself very fortunate in a profession the public views as full of charlatans, greed, and unhappiness.
I’m really good at
Law is really my niche. I never was a very competitive person until I set foot in a courtroom. Then it's on.

I have the ability to break down almost anything into its basics in order to solve a problem.

I always try to stay supportive of friends and family through their worst, even when things suck for me.

Marathoning Netflix/Hulu on a lazy Saturday or Sunday. I also love being outside, particularly in beautiful San Diego!

Staring contests with my cat. I generally lose, especially because Thelma has a blue eye and a green eye. It's an unfair advantage. RIP/best wishes (fingers crossed) to Louise, who ran away in fall 2012 :(.
The first things people usually notice about me
is that my hair is really curly (if it's longish), I have long eyelashes, and I have an awesome beard. The awesomeness of the beard is not self-promoting. I've been told this a number of times. If you are a beard-hating woman, I'm sorry for you.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
A sampling...

Favorite Books: All Quiet on the Western Front; The Brethren; Lord of the Rings (Whole Set); Ender's Game; Speaker for the Dead

Favorite Movies: Saving Private Ryan; The Matrix (just pretend Keanu is a better actor than he is); Ghostbusters 1 & 2; Lord of the Rings (again, Whole Set); Serenity; 2001: A Space Odyssey; Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind; Tommy Boy; and a ton of others I can't think of right now

Favorite Music: I'm a hippie kid deep down, so I really love my parents' music. I'm routinely found listening to the Beatles, the Allman Brothers, and a lot of other 60s and 70s music and artists like Paul Simon or James Taylor. I also like some of the more modern stuff like Vampire Weekend and Silver Sun Pickups. Oooh, and Coldplay... I love Coldplay. I can't stand most rap or country.

Favorite Foods: Thai, Ethiopian (seriously, holy crap), Mexican, Italian, Indian, and pretty much anything and everything vegetarian. But I hate eggplant and olives and blue cheese so so much.
Six things I could never do without
Besides the obvious:
Family (we are very close)
Love and intimacy
Intellectual conversation
Hope for the future
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I think a lot about what I'm doing with my life and how I can come closer to achieving my goals, particularly making a difference in society for the poor and disadvantaged. Yes, my heart is bleeding.

I also spend a lot of time thinking about the future of the human race. When I was a kid I wanted to be an astronaut. And part of me still does. I majored in physics and studied astronomy in college. I hope we can all get to space some day and explore the stars.

I also wonder when we will all stop killing each other and stop being so ignorant and intolerant. I know this sounds generic and idealistic, but I hope we all think about these things regularly.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with some friends, partaking in drinking and/or smoking, and engaging in good conversation. Hopefully this involves a friend's place and intense board gaming or cards. Have you played Battlestar Galactica the board game? If not, learning is necessary. Also, I thoroughly enjoy lounging with Netflix or Hulu and resting my brain from an intense week of work.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Hmm... not a whole lot on the tubes. But I'm a very open person when you meet me, and I'll talk about essentially anything :).
You should message me if
you are interested. Please initiate--I find assertive women attractive.

I am looking for a sweet, intelligent, and cute woman who has her ambitions and cares about society and human rights--things that are really important to me. I want someone who can challenge my views and can teach me something new--someone who will help me become a better person; someone sensitive who will be there for me when things are tough. I prefer a vegetarian or vegan, but if you still eat meat that's fine. And let's be clear: I am interested in building a relationship, so please be emotionally available.

All seriousness aside, a great sense of humor is completely necessary. I am a sarcastic SOB. Can you handle it?
The two of us