60 Watsonville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
*currently dating someone*I'm divorced(9 years) and recently decided to give dating another try. Not wealthy, but self sufficient, working as a mechanic in San Jose. The oldest of four kids(for those into the hierarchical placement thing), raised in a family where nothing much was off limits for discussion. I've been spending my free time fixing up a house I bought several years ago, riding (then repairing) my old motorcycles and hiking when I can. I recently got a kayak and I'm looking forward to exploring around with that. I enjoy reading, movies, museums and finding cool new places to eat. I'm HWP but no athlete, though I try to stay in good enough shape to do the things I enjoy. I like a wide range of music and art, I'm politically liberal and woman/kid/animal/LGBT/420/civil rights friendly. I'm the kind of person that mechanically maintains my cars but doesn't care much what they look like. Or I'll reuse plastic containers, but then commute 50 miles to work. Like most of us I'm a contradiction to myself some days and a little weird (hope you are too). I live alone but keep in touch with my kids and siblings as much as possible. I'm a pretty happy guy, but for missing an adult woman's companionship. I'm searching for someone in the central coast area and if I interest you at all please make contact. If not, good luck in your search. Don't give up, I agree with Albert Ellis that "the art of love is largely the art of persistence".
I’m really good at
I have strong spatial skills, Repairing/fixing things (I have an affinity for old machines), breaking down problems into smaller more manageable pieces, listening and I'm good with my hands.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music- I have an eclectic taste in what I listen to. But some of my favorites are Leon Russell, The Clash, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Sylvan Esso, Stiffed, Elvis Costello, Gorillaz, Prokofiev, Amos Lee, Beatles, Radio Citizen, The Black Keys, Autolux, The Stones, Stevie Ray Vaughn, The Kills, Billie Holiday, Soul Coughing, Latin Acid Jazz, Spoon, English Beat, Lena Horne, Led Zeppelin, Salli Ford and the Sound Outside, Queens of the stone Age, UB40, TUneYArDS, etc. There isn't much I don't listen to. Movies- My movie tastes are about as wide, and the best liked tend toward the immersive like Pan's Labyrinth, The Fall, Sin City, Wizard of OZ, Oh Brother Where Art Thou?, Children of Men, Big Fish, 5th Element, The adventures of Baron Munchausen, City of God. I also enjoy biographical films like Frida or Lincoln or westerns like Unforgiven, True Grit(Cohen bros. version) or the spaghetti westerns. Then sometimes I dig stuff like Smokin' Aces, Fight Club, Usual Suspects or a Tarentino film. I've even been known to go to a date flick or a weeper(if they're good). Books/Reading-I used to plow through books, but with my work schedule the old reading (and typing) speed have dropped. Liked The Dog Stars by Peter Heller, A Wild Sheeps Chase by Haruki Murakami and Last, Last Chance by Fiona Maazel. I subscribe to several periodicals (Smithsonian, Mother Jones, Nat Geo) and then spend time researching further online. I'll read anything by Chuck Palahniuk, William Gibson, Bruce Sterling, Charles Portis, Vonnegut, Asimov and have recently gotten back into the dystopian near future novel genre. I also like graphic novels and the way comics have expanded in the last couple decades from when I was young. I haven't had TV for over 12 years(and only rarely miss it), but I have Netflix and watch DVDs some weeks. I've watched several series(I'm always telling people to not let me know how it ends). Currently following Mister Robot, Rick and Morty, Better Call Saul, West World, The Walking Dead and Shameless. I also like documentaries by Ken Burns, National Geographic and movies I didn't catch at the theater. Food- Another good reason to start dating again is the excuse to try new places to eat. While I don't expect anyone to be as adventurous as I like to think I am, I'll go pretty much anywhere they want to try. I'm also happy to stay in and cook at home(it's the company that counts).
The six things I could never do without
Outside of air, water, and food, the love of my kids/family, being able to find the beauty in the everyday and the the chance to continue learning about new people and things. When I read that out loud it sounds a little boy scout/Pollyanna-ish, but I guess I've pared down what's important to me to those basic things.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How I can stop thinking about things I have no control over and concentrating on what is actually important to me. I must be getting better at it as it feels I do less worrying about those situations.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Just guess