29 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I was born and raised in North Carolina with a healthy love for people and for music. I studied music at UNC-Chapel Hill and currently teach bass, work part-time jobs and play bass professionally up and down the east coast. Travelling, meeting new people, cultures, and ideas all excite my curiosity. I enjoy hearing live music, books, conversation, and cutting up.
What I’m doing with my life
I play bass, write music for, and manage an original afro-dance band that regionally tours the east coast. It is my goal to turn the group into a thriving entertainment business while maintaining the musical integrity and originality of the group. Chasin' that dream and making booties shake.

Check out
I’m really good at
Making folks laugh with a dry sense of humor, playing bass, and growing beards. I am moderately good at appreciating a craft beer, noticing the weather on a daily basis, four square, and cooking. I am bad at science.
The first things people usually notice about me
I've got this anglicized Jesus thing going on right now with lusicious, long, curly brown with tinges of auburn and blond hair with a healthy brown beard.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Infinite Jest, East of Eden (most Steinbeck), To Kill a Mockingbird, LOTR, Blood Meridian (McCarthy is killer), House of Leaves, 1984, I dig the Shakespeares too

Movies: Tarantino, Coen Brothers, Christopher Nolan, Night of the Living Dead, Star Wars

TV: The Wire, Battlestar Galactica, The Walking Dead, Breaking Bad, Highlander

Music: Jazz, rock, Western Classical music, pop, country, bluegrass, Afrobeat, salsa, flamenco, qawwali, funk, soul. Basically, if human beings make it and it has some roots, I am interested and will listen.

Alright. I'll get a little more specific. Miles Davis, Flea, John Coltrane, Mingus, Debussy, Stravinsky, The Beatles, Rage, Doc Watson, Paco de Lucia (w/Carlos Benevente), Nusrat Fateh Ali Kahn, all 90's pop (of course. I mean it. I am a 90's juke box. They had me singing Spice Girls the other day), Thelonius Monk, Jaco, Wayne Shorter, The Allman Brothers, Ron Carter.

Food: I am an adventurous eater. I'll generally try most anything from any culture. Wait....not people. Yeah. Definitely not trying to eat any people ever. I stay away from packaged foods.
The six things I could never do without
1. Loving, laughing, dancing people.
2. Music
3. A bass
4. Thought-provoking books
5. Coffee
6. Lists of things that I could never do without
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Life. Ideas. Getting things done. Music. Narrating funny experiences and stories.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out hearing or playing music. Hopefully dance music in a great club.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have been beaten up by more high schoolers as an adult than when I was in high school.
You should message me if
You want to hang

Explore any of the following topics: getting loose, entertainment, historical contexts of anything, language, college basketball, how relativity expresses itself in art, coconut products, coffee perhaps in combination with coconut products, music and what the fuck it is, analyzing behavior and thoughts, pretensciousness, interpersonal politics, slapstick comedy, foodz. Also, whatever.

I've checked out some of my women friends' okcupid profiles alongside them and am baffled at the difference between being a man or woman on this thing. It's a tough world out there for you. Avoid the creepos and the 'hi, how are you's' out there!

I'm looking for connection whether it is for a night, a month, a year or the rest of my life. If we can offer each other some vulnerability and honesty, I'll be into it.

I'm a student of Dan Savage and believe in making sexual compability a priority. I am GGG with a high sex drive and have fun!