35Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a native New Yorker with a passion for music and substance. While music is my favorite, I also have a deep love and respect for all arts (performing and visual), crafts and creative endeavors. In fact, one of the most beautiful things I have ever experienced was playing guitar while someone sat on my couch and sketched. I like to laugh and have fun. I am also honest, dependable and always happy to listen to whats on the mind of someone I care about and offer insight. I am always open to try new things as well. With the right company, I can enjoy a very wide variety of activities. I exercise every day whether it's swimming, a long walk or a dry gym workout because I always feel better afterwards and it helps me get a first or second wind. My biggest pet peeves are bullying, bigotry and extreme prejudice (including racism, sexism, homophobia, etc.). I believe that we all have some prejudice; the important thing is that we manage it by keeping an open mind.
What I’m doing with my life
I pay the bills working as a paraprofessional for the NYC Dept. of Ed. Otherwise I'm a guitar/mandolin player and singer. Here is the page for my group, Brotherhood, of which I am very proud . Here's a collage of clips taken from a gig with another project: hope to support myself with music one day. Also enjoying the independence that my recently acquired car has allowed me.
I’m really good at
Listening, offering insight, all things music (performing, discussing, Jenga, Chess, a little cooking, remembering lines from movies and tv shows, etc.
The first things people usually notice about me
Curly hair
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: Old time, Bluegrass, Blues, Roots, Classic Rock, R & B (late 50's through the 70's), Reggae, string bands, Country, some Grunge/Post-Grunge and anything else that sounds good to me. I'm an old soul; particularly with my musical taste.

Visual artists: Dali, Rembrandt, Van Gogh, Monet, Vermeer, etc.

Shows: Seinfeld, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Simpsons, Monk, The Daily Show (love Trevor but miss Jon) , The Nightly Show, SNL(circa 1989-1994, and select sketches or cast members from other times), Psych, Modern Family, Arrested Development, The Big Bang Theory, 3rd Rock From the Sun, The Ranch, etc.

Comedians: George Carlin, Lewis Black, John Stewart, etc.

Movies: Lots of 80's comedies (particularly if John Hughes or Eddie Murphy is involved), Wayne's World(1 & 2), Ghost World, Die Hard (1-3), documentaries, most Tim Burton (from Pee Wee's Big Adventure to Sleepy Hallow), Quentin Tarantino, Mel Brooks, Muppets, The Godfather Trilogy, Goodfellas, The Crow, Scarface, The French Connection, Disney (mostly the hand drawn classics), American Beauty, Stand Up Guys, Wolf of Wall Street, Dallas Buyer's Club, As Good As it Gets, etc.

Books: Of Mice and Men, Catcher in the Rye, music biographies, The Vampire Book: The Encyclopedia of the Undead, The Odyssey, Bram Stoker's Dracula, art history books, Batman comics, etc.

Food: Almost anything but raw tomatoes, liver, excessive cilantro and gefilte fish
Six things I could never do without
Music (performing and listening), along w/many other arts
Stimulating conversation
New learning experiences
Music (it's just that important that it had to be said twice, even though it meant passing the limit haha)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Music, the well being of myself and people I care about and things that make me laugh. Also, why do shelled walnuts have somewhere in between a vague and striking resemblance to brains?
On a typical Friday night I am
Chilling at home, performing, hearing live music, out for dinner/drinks (specifically beer), etc.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I once had a neighbor named Frank Sinatra.
You should message me if
The possibility of meeting up interests you. You want to hear the story behind my username. You want to ask me why Nashville is my favorite city.
The two of us