30 Syracuse, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hey. I'm Laura and I'm a 25 year-old graduate student at Syracuse University. I'm originally from Rochester, NY but I spent the six years before moving back in Chicago, working at a broadcast television company.

I'm at SU studying entertainment television, which is awesome. I get to spend my days watching TV and then talking about it in class.

I also love to travel. Before coming to SU, I spent the summer in Thailand, Cambodia, and Vietnam. I've spent a lot of time in France, and less time than I'd like in Poland, Japan, and Spain. I adore French Canada, or, really, Canada in general. That could stem from the fact that I've been playing ice hockey for years.

I also love subway systems, acoustic guitars, Broadway, hips, outdoor hockey rinks, the Olympics, and witty dialogue. I'm a little bit of a geek, if you couldn't tell-
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a masters student at the SI Newhouse School of Public Communications. I'm studying the academic side of the media industry, focusing on the social relevancy of science fiction entertainment TV shows. On the other side, I'm teaching undergrads about the future of the broadcast and cable industries and preparing them for professional jobs.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: King Lear, Slaughterhouse Five, Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, The Sun Also Rises, The Front Runner

TV: Battlestar Galactica, Babylon 5, The West Wing, Sports Night, Fringe, The X-Files, Modern Family, Parks and Rec, 30 Rock, Friends, The Big Bang Theory, Lost, 24, Dollhouse, Glee, Dr. Who, Torchwood, Skins, Friday Night Lights

Music: Jackson Browne, Van Morrison, Bonnie Raitt, Coheed and Cambria, Green Day, The Counting Crows, Barenaked Ladies, Black Eyed Peas, Sufjan Stevens

Movies: Star Wars, Iron Man, Star Trek (reboot), 10 Things I Hate About You, Man in the Iron Mask, Juno, The Mighty Ducks trilogy, Transamerica

Food: I'm a very adventurous food eater, and I like anything that isn't food and rice. However, Asian food is my favorite: Thai, sushi, Chinese, Cambodian, Korean, etc... I also love avocados and hummus.
The six things I could never do without
1. My friends and family
2. Television and Music (is that why I'm embarrassingly obsessed with The Voice?)
3. Traveling (/exploring)
4. Conversation
5. My iPhone
6. My West Wing coffee mug
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How time travel works and whether the future really is fated. Also, about where my next place to travel is, what TV show I'm going to watch next, and when the Chicago Blackhawks will win the Stanley Cup again.
On a typical Friday night I am
Watching a TV show with friends and drinking a bottle of wine.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If I wasn't tone deaf, I'd love to be a singer.