38Supply, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am from Long Island NY, I moved down here in '92. I found this is my home and never want to leave it. I am recently divorced and have 3 children, I share custody with my X so I have them 1/2 the week.
At 36 starting over is not fun but I think it can be considered a test of ones esteem. I started out in shambles but after help I have new goals and am happy in life. I enjoy church, I go every Sunday and I also attend a single parent help group that is a true help.
I now live with my parents, ok sad yes but we all have to start somewhere! I am disabled, I suffer from petit mal seizures, 30-45 second 'spaced' auras. They don't effect my day to day life, I have 1 or 2 about every 30 days. It does, however, keep me from driving - down here that is a big problem! After my second car accident caused by a seizure, where I rear ended a lady and her daughter, I gave up my license freely. I have a scooter which gets me easily to most places, I have taken it to Wilmington and to myrtle beach. OK, a scooter isn't the most ideal mode of transportation but I can ride all week long for less than 20$. With a lot of family close by if I need a ride it isn't hard to find.
I owned a very successful house painting business until my disability and the housing market slowed to a crawl. I still paint, I do smaller jobs when they are available. I also work part time as a cashier, I enjoy the job, I love to talk with the customers and see the locals.. Holden Beach is not a big area, seems like we all know each other here.
I find being honest on my profile will weed out the ones who are looking for perfection... We all know that is very hard to find, I feel my positives out weigh my negatives and am worth starting a conversation with or continuing one I start.
What I’m doing with my life
Somewhat in limbo now. I have made goals to buy a repo/used doublewide trailer and fix it up while I still stay with my parents - they are as cheap as $10,000. After that keep my kids in the right life. For the future.. see where the world takes me.
I’m really good at
- I'm a great father
- I'm a great cook
- I enjoy fly fishing and surf casting
- I was very good at being my oldest cub scout den leader
- I love bowling, I suck but its fun to get together with my league mates and have some drinks
- I do hobby woodcrafts, I enjoy the step by step process of turning a plain piece of wood into a chair or Yankee sign or gnomes house.. you get the idea
- I enjoy camping, we go up to the mountains or take the trucks to Davis island for a 4 day surfcasting adventure on the beach
- I am also a gamer.. I was hooked on World of Warcraft for over a year! that game was like a drug! I don't play the online games anymore I do enjoy my PC games
- I used to play my guitar religiously, when I was much younger I played in a band. When the family started, most the toys went away, I am ashamed to admit I sold 2 beautiful Gibson Les Pauls. I think of that as a show of putting the right things first!
The first things people usually notice about me
I would say my looks, but then more my smile and happy personality. I enjoy making those around me feel special and walk away thinking that there still are nice people in the world.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
music.. 80's 90's rock. Grateful Dead, Pink Floyd, Instrumental Guitar music, Bob Marley... only thing I really don't like is country, even most modern music has a good beat.
Movies.. Anything really
Books.. I love Biographies, Dave Mustaines was fantastic
TV shows.. Love shows like Bizarre foods with Andrew Zimmern and duck dynasty. I love the educational shows, my son and I love watching them together. I like that he enjoys them, we spend time talking about them after we watch them (he loves Stephan Hawking). Every morning I have to wake up to the news with my coffee.
Six things I could never do without
God, my family, my phone, my tools, my pictures, my freedom.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
what the future holds for me. Recently after a particularly moving sermon at church, how to change my 'atmosphere'. To get out of a funk, you have to be willing to do new things I.E.. get on a dating site.
On a typical Friday night I am
I have all three of my kids so we play until they get tired. After they are down I have a beer and honestly, wish their was more nightlife in Holden Beach and hoping for a reason to get dressed up... not khakis and a shirt, but to wear a sports coat or even a suit.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I would openly say, though I am not overly religious, I do find I cry sometimes at church. (pretty manly huh)
You should message me if
If you would like a pen pal that can turn into more.
The two of us