63 Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I would like to play more. Like to laugh - often find humor in the little things. Up to explore almost anything near and perhaps far. I can be happy walking for hours almost anywhere. Mountain, not a hang-out-on-beach person, but love the coast and and almost need to be in driving distance of it. Like road trips, flea markets, thrift stores, dancing, riding commuter and road bikes a bit, foreign films, have 2 grown kids, a grandchild. Live very simply, most unpretentiously, mildly unconventionally in rustic comfort; earthy, casual (not girly-girly) sometimes with urban-vintage edge. Aware and happy that I live in a liberal bubble and need to have partner with similar politics. Up for adventures, big and small, spontaneous and planned. While I am 63 and look it, I am on the youthful side. I would likely pair up best with someone who is active/youthful as well.
What I’m doing with my life
Working as a teacher in a continuation high school. Beginning the last leg of that journey with retirement likely in '17. Some cycling - road bike, commuting via bike often, hiking, figuring out some creative expression, trying to figure out how to contribute to a more racially and socially just world.
I’m really good at
Being curious, asking why questions, hiking, reading aloud, enjoying simple and sometimes spontaneous pleasures, being silly- mostly appropriately, being a morning person, exploring, living a bit on the edge, and quick naps.
The first things people usually notice about me
How much I resemble Sophia Loren: you know, that I am tall, elegant, with striking features, etc. Or maybe not. Could be that I am actually short, with short, thick red hair with strands of gray just now arriving, and the under-pigmented skin and features of the Irish and Scotch. (Ho hum.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Ok, the best movie of all time? Cinema Paradiso. Not much TV, but have been watching the Warriors and Downton Abbey. Radio: Fresh Air, This American Life, To the Best of Our Knowledge. TED talks, Orange is New Black, documentaries. I like all kinds of music. Love spicy food, eat mostly healthy stuff; produce in season, peanut butter. Of course I love chocolate, don't you? Favorite books: Birdsong, Little Bee, Devil in the White City, Empire of Summer Moon, The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down, Cutting for Stone, The Warmth of Other Suns, The New Jim Crow and reading about Jack London now.
The six things I could never do without
Coffee, texture/diversity, hope, mornings, clouds, high mountains
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I am fascinated by the demographic shift around the Bay; wonder where the pushed out people go. Wondering how I can contribute to a greater whole. And with that, starting to fantasize about retirement and the possibilities it brings.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hmmm. Maybe watching Netflix. Listening to Crazy 'Bout the Blues.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I videos.
You should message me if
If you like to laugh; appreciate the humor in everyday life, relish the beauty in even the ordinary, tell the truth, and lean left. Seriously seek a partner who can be a bit spontaneous and silly sometimes. I don't do "likes" as huge percentage of profiles on this site are bogus.