31Sydney, Australia
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
It's the end of September, I've turned 30, finished a PhD, and emigrated (in the space of a week) to Sydney. I know 2 people in Sydney (one of them is my boss) - meeting at least a 3rd seems important.

Research technology/psychology-ish stuff, so I spend a lot of time reading or writing...otherwise pretty normal (I'm an institutionalised academic - how would I know?); like all those things everyone likes; intolerant of people who can't think for themselves (in a pretty laid back way). I danced salsa a lot before, less so now but looking to start again (or west coast swing), been known to make bread, I sometimes play squash, but to date I've only won two it's best not to dwell on that. Board games (/Cranium) on the other hand....

I'd like to meet people who can be serious about not taking things too seriously, and who like to explore. I like people who'll shoot the elephant in the room with me (I don't like people who actually like big game hunting though - that's not cool).
What I’m doing with my life
Did a degree, went travelling, trained to teach...taught, went back to uni, finished (again), got a job (moving soon) so now enjoying the research life...these days that entails a lot of desperately asking "what am I doing with my life?!", I stopped myself from running off to Mexico by running off to Sydney (and you know, all the conferences).
I’m really good at
I'm a generalist...(I can google really well)
The first things people usually notice about me
I probably poke them in the eye with my big nose
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read too much for work, but I've loved Iris Murdoch, Julian Barnes, Ian McEwan, maybe some Jeantte Winterson.

I like bad films (think early 90s), but I do also enjoy good ones...of varying sorts. I watch exactly the same TV as everyone else (I'm still planning to watch the Wire at some point...).

My morning is filled with Lauren Laverne on 6 music - that pretty well sums up my favourites, but I listen to lots of other music too. I also love radio4 comedy.
Six things I could never do without
1) I almost certainly drink more coffee than you. People over-worry about addiction
2) I love American beer - a country of some serious extremes
3) I really need journals/books/libraries to live. That's not a philosophical statement, man gotta eat (man gotta make monies)
4) I love my 50mm SLR lens...I could live without it, but I have a sneaking suspicion that isn't really the point of this list :o
5) I get to travel for work...not so humble brag
6) Google (for so many reasons, including )
I spend a lot of time thinking about
research... Places...
On a typical Friday night I am
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I had a username with '37' in it...this was entirely unrelated to my chronological (or mental, etc.) age...misleading, doh.

I have well over 300 tabs (6 windows, 2 browsers) open at the's a serious problem.
You should message me if want to.
The two of us