siopold616
34 San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
siopold616
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I grew up in New England, went to grad school in Upstate New York, hunkered down in Salt Lake City for a couple of winters, and have spent the past six years ambling along the public and nonprofit byways of the Bay Area. Hence: I've got a Yankee temperament, Middle American values, and a San Franciscan's blend of hopeful idealism and pragmatic anxiety.

Ultimately, I'm looking to settle down with an affectionate, optimistic guy with a good sense of humor. Someone who is comfortable expressing the full range of his emotions and strives to use direct communication to build intimacy and resolve conflict. Someone who wants to create a strong, stable partnership and family together. At the moment, though, my sights are set more broadly on meeting new people and making new connections.

Last but not least: I'm a dyed-in-the-wool ESFJ.
What I’m doing with my life
I teach English at a public high school on the peninsula. I started working in education two years ago, after having spent the previous eight or so in journalism and arts nonprofits. Every day in the classroom is an unpredictable mix of fulfillment, challenge, frustration, and gratification. I love it.

My plans for the future include operating a bed and breakfast in New Hampshire, and naming dogs after state capitals.
I’m really good at
Acting like a local; being self-reflective; making acquaintances; laughing; giving people nicknames; gesticulating; navigating; baking; making corny jokes; using semicolons.
The first things people usually notice about me
My ambiguous ethnicity. (I'm Italian-American. Period.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: Fargo, Sideways, Dog Day Afternoon, Junebug, Volver, Clueless

TV: Fargo, The Great British Baking Show, Broad City, House of Cards, Lost, Doctor Who, Arrested Development, Project Runway, The Sopranos, Star Trek TNG.

Food: Everything. Except eggs.

Books: Goodbye Columbus, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, Ulysses

Music: My Sirius pre-sets are: the Top 40 station, the 80s station, the 90s station, the 90s grunge station, the alt-rock station, and (crucially) the country station. I only buy albums by Beyonce, Taylor Swift, and Adele.

Board Games: Ticket to Ride, Zombie Dice, Smash Up, Carcassonne, Love Letter
The six things I could never do without
Sandwiches
Beer
The Interstate Highway System
NPR podcasts
Someone to tell jokes to
Something to look forward to
I spend a lot of time thinking about
...my next meal; the next 40 years of my life.
On a typical Friday night I am
...resisting the urge to put on pajama pants, cook a comforting meal (or order some comforting take-out), take a couple of beers out of the fridge, and watch TV. (Eh, who am I kidding... I'm usually not resisting.)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a crush on Sam Sanders.
You should message me if
...you connected with anything you read up above and you'd like to get together to shoot the breeze for an hour or two over a beer or a coffee.
More