RedlineHiker
51 Barrington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
RedlineHiker
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am looking for a special person to share our interests and experiences. I am interested in many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, camping, birdwatching, downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, golf, fishing, tennis, paddleboarding, and SCUBA diving. Sometimes though I enjoy hanging out on a beach working on the perfect tan or going on a long drive to nowhere in particular.

I love to travel. In my view, when we pass ... it's not who has the most stuff or money that matters, but who has accumulated the most experiences. I like to travel almost anywhere, but I'm prone to travel to a warm sunny locations, where T's, shorts, and sandals constitute formal attire. I'm fine in an evening jacket and tie too though.

Some words I use to describe myself are kind, polite, trustworthy, confident, loyal, compassionate, reliable, patient, loving, intelligent, and affectionate. I have a steady job with a steady employer. I am not a glass half-full person, ... rather my glass is mostly-full.

I have two fantastic boys ages 19 (away at college) and 11, and they are critically important to me. They split time with me, but I see them almost every day, which I love. I love spicy food - I can cook cajun dishes. Most of my reading is non-fiction, but I enjoy reading classic fiction also.

I am looking for companionship (and more) with a woman that enjoys a variety of outdoor activities (hiking in the Whites, skiing, golf/tennis, playing on the lake or ocean). If you are politically centrist or a bit of a lefty that's great; the far right-minded need not apply. I enjoy city and cultural activities too, and it's all about sharing and learning from each other ... so I DO NOT want somebody EXACTLY like me anyway. I want to learn from you too.
What I’m doing with my life
Enjoying every minute of it and maintaining my loving relationship with my two boys. One is off to college on the west coast, and the other I see almost every day. I recently (April 2016) started my own small business. I am not quitting my day job, but working to grow my hobby job has been a lot of fun. It combines the things I like to do for fun with some potential to earn a little extra money.
I’m really good at
Outdoors/Nature stuff
Cajun cooking
Hiking
Getting better on my Stand Up Paddleboard (SUP)
Remembering people and places
Planning fantastic vacations and trips
Listening
Birdsongs (I can identify bird species by their songs and calls)
Not making things bigger than they need to be
The first things people usually notice about me
Tell me ... what's the first thing you noticed about me?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love spicy food - cajun, mexican, thai ... sushi!!

I love to watch movies in the theater on the big screen, and at home too, but not alone :) ... home has its advantages on those chillingly cold dark nights. I like all kinds of movies, except for horror (they scare me!)

My last reads are ... Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court, The Granite Landscape, The Case for Constructivism, Crime and Punishment, Pride and Prejudice, Jane Eyre, Winter World; How Birds Migrate; Life in the Cold; Mom's House, Dad's House; After the Ice Age; Gatherings of Angels; Reading the Forested Landscape; Collapse; Applied Logistic Regression.

For music, I love my satellite radio - 1st Wave, Alt Nation, Classic Rewind, Classic Vinyl. I have pretty broad listening tastes including rock, alternative, jazz, and even some hip-hop. My iPod is loaded with U2, The Smiths, Radiohead, The Replacements (they are reforming this year - yay!!), The Clash, Cowboy Mouth, Morrissey, O.M.D., Big Audio Dynamite, Simple Minds, Squeeze and Robbie Williams.
The six things I could never do without
My kids
Hiking/Snowshoeing in the Whites
Birding
Internet
Satellite Radio
Low Latitudes
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Life, philosophy, and finding someone extra-special. I also spend a lot of time planning my next vacations ... Berkshires in August and Virgin Islands in January.
On a typical Friday night I am
usually not doing much. But, ... message me, let's do something.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If I admit it here, it will no longer be private.
You should message me if
1) you are truly available (that is, no lingering emotional attachments to past men) and ready to meet a new someone special, 2) you are not far right-minded, 3) you are physically active, 4) you don't smoke, 5) you like kids, and 6) you have a least one photo with you wearing a big happy smile!!

If you feel astrological sign is an important consideration for a match ... then we probably won't make a match.
More