46Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
--Kind, compassionate, thoughtful, easy going, reliable, nurturing, good listener.
--Bodyworker, psychotherapist, explorer, world traveler, wilderness lover.
--Hiker, cyclist, lap swimmer, and yoga aficionado.
--Reader, life-long learner, Spanish speaker.
--Lover of photography.
--Bay area native.
--North Oakland homeowner/resident.
--Have lived in the East Bay for 15 years.
--Balanced and well-rounded.
--Some of my other favorite things in life are: wilderness backpacking, climbing volcanoes, immersing beneath giant waterfalls, and jumping in cold alpine lakes in the Sierras (brrrr!!!). And chocolate. (:

--I like to pause to appreciate the beauty of life.
--I enjoy alone time and also appreciate time with friends, family, and of course my partner (when I have one).
--Have been running my own massage therapy private practice since 2002. Thai Massage, Shiatsu and Deep Tissue are my bread and butter modalities. I feel grateful to be doing work I love.
--Recently completed my MFT licensure process, becoming a licensed psychotherapist.
--Immersed myself in Buddhist philosophy, psychology, and meditation while traveling in South and South East Asia in my mid-20s. After my first silent 10-day meditation retreat in India in 1995, I knew my life path had been permanently altered for the better.
--I was fortunate to be close to my grandparents growing up and they continue to have a profound impact on me even though they passed away 15 years ago.
What I’m doing with my life
Healing work as a bodyworker and psychotherapist. Always evolving, opening my heart wider and wider, learning, striving to remain true to my self and my values, and being grateful. Exploring and adventuring. Seizing the day. Cultivating relationships. Savoring food. Taking care of my body-mind and striving to heed the calls of my soul and spirit. Laughing as much as possible. Spending quality time with friends and family. Spending time outdoors, being still, being present as much as possible, exercising, curling up with a good book, and enjoying the ride. Always striving for a healthy balance. Breathing. Too many domestic chores as a single head of household! Connecting with the natural world and my inner wild man. Being awestruck by and grateful for the beauty of wild Mother Earth.
I’m really good at
listening to others and to myself, being kind and considerate, being supportive and nurturing to those I love, following my heart and gut instincts, eating slowly, the three R's, geography, map reading, traveling, photographing people and landscapes, appreciating good food, being on time, parallel parking, collecting books, making Mulligatawny soup, making lists, keeping my commitments, being a brother/son/uncle/friend, taking risks, trespassing (occasionally, when it's simply irresistible) climbing practically anything (I was the kid in elementary school who shimmied up the 15 foot pole to get onto the roof to get the kickball down so we could continue playing), paying bills on time, being organized and paying attention to details, being playful, massage, embracing the unknown, pausing, appreciating natural beauty, staying grounded in the midst of challenges, staying healthy, devouring desserts (in moderation, of course!), and being honest about how I feel.
The first things people usually notice about me
Honestly, I'm not sure, but perhaps my hazel green eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I enjoy a wide variety of tunes: latin, afro-cuban, funk, jazz, folk, blues, bluegrass, reggae, classic rock, hip hop, etc. Not too crazy about country music or gangster rap.

Favorite food: Thai, sushi, Indian, Italian, and Turkish/Middle Eastern round out my top 5.

Movies: Il Postino, Mala Educacion (I love all of Pedro Almodovar's films), Last King of Scotland, Crash, Lost in Translation, A Beautiful Mind, Motorcycle Diaries, Babel, Where the Green Grasshoppers Dream, Hotel Rwanda, Pelle the Conqueror, The Lives of Others, Barton Fink, Sideways, Asfalto, V for Vendetta, Mesrine: Killer Instinct, etc.

Books... that might take a while. How about favorite authors/poets: Gary Snyder, Wendell Berry, Joanna Macy, David Orr, Cormac Macarthy, Basho, Rumi, Rilke, David Whyte, Rollo May, Irving Yalom, Hermann Hesse, Sharon Salzberg, Joseph Goldstein, and Jack Kornfield for starters.
Six things I could never do without
1) Feeling a deep sense of interconnection with life and the Earth
2) Genuine friends and a loving family
3) Moments of intentional stillness and silence, awareness, inner freedom, balance, and yoga
4) Exercise and adventure under blue skies
5) Independent travel
6) Delicious and healthy food
I spend a lot of time thinking about
--how to maximize joy, contentment, and freedom by simplifying life as much as possible
--financial freedom
--my inner world and the inner world of the people in my life
--the trade-offs between time and money and between material objects and freedom
--emergency preparedness
--food, my next meal, and whether I have enough chocolate in my house to survive for a month without being able to resupply (:
--how to kill the relentless weeds that grow on my driveway
--how to survive and thrive in the midst of the economic, social, and ecological crises we face
--the paradox of so much beauty and ugliness that simultaneously surround us
--how to live in an ecologically sustainable manner; living off the grid
--how to live a balanced, joyful, meaningful, and no-regrets life
--climate change and energy issues
--alternatives to our broken capitalist system
--where i want to live, work, travel, and retire
--how to stay connected to nature and healthy in mind, body, and spirit while living in an urban zone
On a typical Friday night I am
either unwinding at home, getting some exercise and soaking in the jacuzzi, or having a mellow dinner out with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Let's save that for later!
You should message me if
you like what you've read in my profile and you're looking for a high quality, genuine, down-to-earth, sensual, fun, solid, dependable, and sweet guy for a long-term, committed/monagamous relationship.

you're genuine, kind, honest, loving, affectionate/warm, a good communicator, mentally/emotionally stable & available, financially responsible, adventurous, love to travel, love being active in the outdoors, are flexible and easy going about most things, care about the planet, eat healthy food, and have a good sense of humor.

Bonus points if you're a great cook! :)
The two of us