someguy988
28 Monterey, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
someguy988
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
British. Recently moved to California from London, working at a university.
What I’m doing with my life
Moved to California after finishing my PhD in history in London. Exploring the area, and enjoying freedom from the thesis.

Enjoy visiting new places, learning about culture and seeing historical stuff (often also get excited about the food!) Recently enjoyed Myanmar, Vietnam and South Africa. Also spent a lot of time in China.

Like to try and be active - enjoy running and the gym (although not taking it all that seriously!) Would like to get into some other activities/sports - suggestions welcome...
I’m really good at
Hi! I'm Dan's female friend and think I can best answer this question. Dan loves to laugh- he is really easy-going and will always join into a conversation and have a good laugh with a group. He can come across as a bit reserved but is totally brilliant, hilarious, and thoughtful. Dan is that great guy who will remember your birthday, make you laugh after a rough day, and listen when you just need to vent. What is he really good at? Listening. Laughing. Being considerate of other people. And he knows the best restaurants that are yet-to-be-discovered. Ladies, he's just a great guy.
The first things people usually notice about me
Height - never gets tiring repeatedly hearing about this!

Also people struggle to understand my accent.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: John le Carre, trashy and less trashy thrillers, biographies, history books. Work stuff.

Movies and TV: Apocalypse Now, various other war films, Bond. House of Cards, the Americans. Documentaries. Sarcy dry or satirical comedy like the Thick of It, Veep, Peepshow, UK and US Office, Parks and Rec.

Music: Radiohead, the Horrors, My Bloody Valentine, shoegazey stuff, Pavement, the Smiths, Patti Smith, the National, Interpol, Atoms for Peace, Wild Beasts, classic stuff.

Food: Pretty open minded - some favourites include Chinese (dim sum!), Japanese, Korean and Italian.
The six things I could never do without
- Good friends (cop-out!)
- Spotify
- Books/paper
- Passport
- Gym
- Abacus
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How I'm either writing stuff that some unfortunate PhD student will have to read in 30 years, or reading stuff that someone wrote 30 years ago.
On a typical Friday night I am
Drinking or dinner with friends. Never in a hurry to get home.
More