36 Madison, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Growing up, I lived around the Mid-West and took vacations with my family all over the country (with a couple farther trips, even). For the past thirteen years, I've been in Wisconsin, mostly Madison. My feet are getting itchy.

I'm often stuck in my head and value (and am comfortable with) my time alone, which probably makes me sound anti-social or introverted. Not the case. I like being out and having fun, and while I can be a bit awkward at first, once I'm comfortable (or have had a couple drinks), I like joking around.

When I am alone, I'm usually reading a lot or watching something on Netflix. I've been trying to focus more on my creative ambitions, but I haven't yet found a good way to separate that work from leisure. Still, I've got a number of songs and stories sitting around.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm trying to figure out how to make my dreams (writing, making music) pay. If I can manage that, I'll be able to take my work with me and visit my growing list of new places.

I drive taxi, read, and occasionally express my creative side.

I guess I'm also posting very serious (scary?) pictures of myself. Hopefully it's impetus to take a better one.
I’m really good at
Music. I've been playing some form since '86 or '87.
The first things people usually notice about me
Usually it's my hair and beard. Also my smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Lots of Science Fiction and Fantasy. My list of favorites is constantly changing, though I always look forward to the next Gene Wolfe book, and I love seeing what's new and creative. It's one of my favorite things about SFF.

Movies: 12 Monkeys; The Fisher King; Drive; Manhunter; 2001; Red Beard; Collateral; Eraserhead; Blues Brothers; UHF; Moon; Fury Road.

Podcasts: I Should Be Writing and lots of other sf/writing podcasts. Lately, I've been learning a lot from Secular Sexuality with Dr. Darrel Ray.

Shows: X Files; Cowboy Bebop; SCTV; Breaking Bad; Flying Circus; Kids in the Hall; Hikaru No Go.

Music: All Delighted People by Sufjan Stevens; Dogman by King's X; Love and Theft by Bob Dylan; Charlie Brown Christmas by the Vince Guaraldi Trio; Midnight Blue by Kenny Burrell; Peer Gynt by Edvard Grieg.

Food: stir fry; soup; homemade bread; hummus (my family's recipe); anything new and vegan (I've been one since 2007).

There's lots more. I always have a hard time coming up with my favorite anything.
The six things I could never do without
Something to read.
An instrument to play.
The means to play it.
A friend who understands me.
Blank paper and something to mark it.
Open places.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I've been reading or what's going on around me. How to do my part in building a better community.

How to reconcile my desire to travel with my beliefs (I got rid of my car five years ago because of its environmental impact). The best I can come up with is to take up sailing.
On a typical Friday night I am
I'm usually driving taxi on Friday night. It's one of the best nights for me to work. If I'm not working, there's usually a good reason for it.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My first real experience with responsibility didn't go well. My mom left me in charge of my little brother while she ran some errands. I ended up breaking his arm (*not* my intention) because he put too much mayo on his sandwich.
You should message me if
* you're smart and nerdy (or geeky -- I don't really care about the distinction)
* you want to
* you're curious about something in my profile
* you have a higher enemy percentage with me than friend and would like to help me find out why
* you just want to chat -- I like talking with interesting people