spanglita
35 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
spanglita
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am an extrovert who is interested in culture, language, and travel. I am looking for someone to rock it out with. Honestly, I am content, happy, and healthy alone but life is way more enjoyable when you have someone to share it with. (Sappy, cheesy, cliche, trite...I know...) And by extrovert I mean that I kind of break into old dance team routines throughout the day. No really. No drinks involved. I love kitchen dancing.

I am active, but not an athlete: mostly gym weight classes. I also do Pilates. In addition I bike and always, always choose the stairs. No really- always.

I like to spend my money on experiences rather than things, and like to spend time outdoors and with friends. I love live music and sporting events.

It is really important to me that my partner be interested in world issues and other cultures and experiences. I have unpacked my knapsack of White Privilege. (Bonus points if you know what the hell I am referring to.)

I am divorced and have a son. I have full custody. I could write a telenovela about my 7 1/2 year marriage and might some day...
What I’m doing with my life
Working, working out, doing homework, baking, all the while dreaming of international travel, and sunny days.

Going out with friends and oh, yeah, teaching children how to read. I know. You are welcome, Society. (I totally just personified that with an uppercase letter. Not an error.)
I’m really good at
Being honest, listening, empathizing, being realistic...I am a good traveler- I adapt quickly to situations. I also am damn good at accepting people as complex, unique beings. So you are losing your hair or are an unidentified member of the millions of people who are on the autism spectrum. So? Guess who isn't a robot either- me! You are the perfect you- let's rock it out. I'm pretty fun.
The first things people usually notice about me
I am funny and animated. I am interested in almost everything and can have conversation about just as much. I am a diligent student of Mindful Inquiry.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Right now I am really focused on my leadership duties so I currently just read the Nation and the latest about phonological awareness. You know, just light reading. I also am about to start coursework for my admin license, so lots of reading about illiterate children, budget cuts, and institutionalized racism.

My taste in all areas is eclectic.
The six things I could never do without
Beyond Maslow's hierarchy...my son, exercise, chocolate, books, time in the sun, travel....
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Moving back to Spain, or at least California where there are more sunny days. I love warm weather. I also am constantly translating everything that people say and am critical about salient errors in grammar or pronunciation. People's speech fascinates me.
On a typical Friday night I am
Eating dinner with friends after having gone for a walk or eating out. I usually rest and connect on Friday and go out on Saturday.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am aware of this character flaw, and work against it, but...sigh...if I like you- no wrong can you do, and I will always consider your happiness and be annoyingly loyal and understanding, but if I don't...I believe that people that intentionally hurt you should be cut out of your life- life is fleeting and you should learn from your mistakes.
You should message me if
You wouldn't mind being a step daddy and know you want a life partner- I have no interest in casual dating with no posibility of a future. I want to rock it out long term style with someone super option.

...but I am up for concerts and sporting events, (I have gear that I will wear.) Who doesn't mind a few hours of mob mentality and/or dancing, (and definitely,) drinking?
More