sparkinsf
36 San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
sparkinsf
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I love literature, laughter, and life;
an ex-East coaster, San Francisco convert, and midwesterner at heart;
a Korean-American English teacher with an unhealthy love for commas and words and the order and chaos of things;
a laidback guy with a hidden edge.

I like my beer and coffee dark, I like to have a plan but be spontaneous. I'll try anything once, or forever; I love new experiences.
What I’m doing with my life
I spend most of my time with books and kids. They keep me young.

I am equally comfortable reading or dancing, kicking ass in Scrabble or taekwondo, hanging out with octogenarians or kindergarteners, riding waves or writing sonnets, leading or going with the flow.

Most recently, I joined a support group for writing.
I’m really good at
- looking at the bright side

- word games like Scrabble and Boggle

- getting sidetracked...

- tornado kicks

- dealing with drama (of other people, not mine). I teach teenagers, so yeah, there's drama.
The first things people usually notice about me
-my smile and laughter

-my gender, age, and race (although they may not admit it)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Some faves:
Books: The Brothers Karamazov, Cloud Atlas, Possession, Lord of the Flies, Never Let Me Go, To Kill a Mockingbird, Cat's Cradle, The Road, Harry Potter
I love books that gives me chills down my heart soul a la Dostoevsky, Chekhov, and Kafka.

Movies: Godfather I & II, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Blade Runner, The Shawshank Redemption, Grave of the Fireflies, Let the Right One In (and anything w/vampires, really, except for Twilight)

Shows: South Park, 30 Rock, Community, Firefly, Battlestar Galactica, Arrested Development, Breaking Bad, Mad Men, Downton Abbey, Sherlock, etc.

Music: '90s music!
Otherwise, kinda all over the place depending on the mood: hip hop for dancing, classic rock for chilling, classical for working, etc.

Food: Korean, Japanese, dim sum, Thai, Indian, Popeyes (my guilty pleasure), medium-rare steak, hot soup on a cold day, street food, finger food
The six things I could never do without
family and friends (tried and true)
the written word
basketball (or something active)
passport
wifi
coffee stout - because I like both coffee and beer
randomness - I like being surprised. (I don't care it's 7.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
- what I spend a lot of time thinking about
- how to write a profile
- where to spend my next summer
- where the universe is going
On a typical Friday night I am
- not grading papers/tests
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm naked underneath my clothes.

I like Taylor Swift :P
You should message me if
- you are sweet, smart, cute, funny, zany
-you love books, food, humor, going out, words games, something different
- you want to.
More