36Kitchener, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Here is a much more up-to-date summary:

Basically I am your typical geek/nerd. I love science fiction and fantasy in most forms (primarily TV, but movies and books aren't far behind). Not much into comics/anime, but I know the basics. Very much a gamer, focusing mostly on board and tabletop (D&D) games these days, but I still pickup a controller now and then. I even did the WoW thing at one point (7 years sober!).

Back in elementary/high school I was the kid who know the answers to all the math/science questions. I eventually turned that into an engineering degree, before entering the workforce and never using any of it again.

I consider myself well versed in computers and technology, but am no longer as up-to-date on that industry as I used to be. I have considered rejuvenating my programming skills, but never seem to have the time.

In keeping with the geek/nerd stereotype, I have trouble in social situations. While not as bad as I used to be, there are still a lot of things I just don't get.

On the non-geeky side I love to travel, having done a few countries in Europe. I have focused on exploring Canada and the US as of late, usually while attending conventions associated with my geeky interests (PAX, GenCon, etc.). Really want to visit asia and australia.

I also love food and trying new things. My favorites are listed below, but I generally like travelling to sample the local food, whether it be traditional fare, or obscure restaurants. I also restaurants with interesting mechanics, such being totally in the dark or submerged underwater. For a fun meal, I usually try not to make money an obstacle.

Relationship-wise, I am not very experienced. I have been told I am very giving and affectionate and I try my best to be open and communicative. I have done long distance in the past, but I am not sure I am interested in doing that now. Basically I am looking for someone who enjoys some of my interests, but also has something new to share. Someone who looks past my weaknesses and sees my inner strengths. I want to be with someone who is fun and playful, but also open, honest and affectionate.
What I’m doing with my life
Professionally, I am an engineer in the mobile industry working at a company in Waterloo--you have one guess which one. My career finally got started about 5 years ago, and while not quite where I expected, it has been moving along fine.

On the personal side, I bought a house 2 years ago and I have been taking my time in getting it in shape. Not my dream home, but a step in that direction.

Recently starting hitting the gym with the help of my personal trainer and got back into cycling. It feels great.
I’m really good at
Technical things (computers, mathematics, science)
Remembering details of past events or the plots of TV shows/movies.
Caring for those who are special to me.
Finding humour in a situation.
Making others laugh.
Board Games
Coming up with crazy ideas and finding ways to justify them
Impressions of myself.
Getting people to read my OKC profile (as evidenced by you).
The first things people usually notice about me
My height. I am pretty short for a guy. Personality wise, I am quite shy at first, but then extremely outgoing. I have no problem being the center of attention.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Chronicles of Narnia, Game of Thrones
Movies: Chronicles of Narnia, Star Trek, Matrix, Shrek, 10 things I hate about you

TV: Star trek, Lost, 24, Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother, Doll House, Alias, Andromeda Grey's Anatomy, Chuck, Stargate, Battlestar, Firefly, Doctor Who, Torchwood, Entourage, Weeds, TrueBlood,Futurama L Word, Mentalist, Castle, Lie to me, Fringe, Game of Thrones, Community

Video Games: Halo, Katamari, driving/fighting games, Rockband/Guitar Hero, RPGs (bioware), Gears of War, Starcraft, Plants vs. Zombies, Orcs must Die

Board Games: Settlers of Catan, Carcasonne, Monopoly, Chess, Puerto Rico, DnD, Smallworlds, 7 Wonders

Music: Most Alternative. U2, Green Day, Linkin Park. Chilli Peppers, Muse , Metric, Rise Against, AFI, Finger 11, White Stripes, Sum 41, Hip, Silversun, Switchfoot, USS, Kasabian, Foo Fighters, Incubus, Pumpkins

Food: Sushi, Thai/Vietnamese, Korean/Japanese, Greek, Italian, Seafood, Indian, Steakhouse, Mexican, Canadian, Chinese in that order
Six things I could never do without
I am changing he question this time around.

The things that are important to me and define who I am:

Challenge--I am always seeking a challenge, which my job provides me with a plethora of each day.

Problem Solving--Usually tied to the above, I enjoy solving problems at work, at home and of course while playing games.

Companionship--Friends, Family, pets and even co-workers

Flexibility--Some people like having a routine and doing the same thing everyday. I am not one of them. Some days I get up at 5am, others noon or later. I will have days where I do nothing and days where I cross 20 items off my to do list.

Spontaneity--I will admit that this has waned in recent years, but I think that is just because I have no one to spontaneous with.

Humour--I can find humour in most situations and greatly enjoy people laugh.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I would do if I found someone special. This often results in me not thinking enough about other things.
On a typical Friday night I am
I prefer to get together with friends and play board games.Some nights, I will grab some take out sushi and sit down with a movie and my cat (which usually becomes a battle to keep my cat away from the Sushi). Basically I am looking for someone to spend my Friday nights with.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I once let someone paint my toenails.
You should message me if
You share some of my interests and you think I would be fun to hang out with. If you are at about the same point in your life as I (done school, full time career) and you are looking for a long term, relationship.
The two of us